Driving any vehicle without the correct insurance is against the law in Florida and throughout the United States. If you are discovered driving without insurance, you will face a license suspension, fines, and in some situations, you could even face jail time. Without a license, you may struggle to live your life fully and or even work.
If you are uninsured and get into an accident, the ramifications could be life-shattering. You could be found liable for the other parties’ property damage, medical bills, and you may even need to compensate them for their loss of earnings. Not to mention the potential for punitive damages, which the judge could enforce to punish you for your actions.
Florida has very specific requirements for insurance, and as a result, it is not uncommon for people to be driving without the correct insurance, sometimes unknowingly. If you have been caught driving without proper insurance, you may need a Bradenton car accident lawyer.
Contact The Law Place today to schedule a free consultation with a dedicated car accident attorney. Our attorneys have over 75 years of combined experience, and we will review your case to determine the best way to proceed. Any communication is protected by attorney-client privileges, so you need not worry about revealing potentially incrimination information.
Call us today at (941) 444-4444 for a free consultation. Our phone lines are open 24/7.
In This Article
- Insurance Requirements in Bradenton, FL.
- Traveling to Florida From Another State
- What If Your Insurance Policy Has Expired?
- What Are the Charges for Driving With No Motor Vehicle Insurance in Bradenton, FL?
- Is It a Criminal Offence to Drive Without Insurance in Bradenton?
- How Can the FHSMV Find Out if You Do Not Have Car Insurance?
- What if You Are Involved in a Bradenton Car Accident With No Insurance?
- What if the Other Party Has No Insurance?
- What Will Defense by a Trafic Offense Lawyer Cost Me?
- Contact The Law Place in Florida Today!
Insurance Requirements in Bradenton, FL.
Car accidents are frequent occurrences in Florida, which has led to numerous personal injury settlements for victims. However, since 2007, the number of people filing car accident claims has dropped. This is because of the introduction of Floridas ‘no-fault’ laws, as outlined in Florida Statute 324.023.
In accordance with this statute, drivers must first seek damages from their own insurance company, regardless of who was at fault. That is unless the damages exceed the limits of their insurance company. If you are driving without insurance and suffer a minor car accident, you may be unable to claim for any damages even if it was not your fault.
The minimum amount of insurance you are required to carry under Florida’s no-fault laws is $10,000 in personal injury and $10,000 in property liability insurance. If your insurance does meet these specifications, you could be charged with driving without motor vehicle insurance.
For a free legal consultation with a no motor vehicle insurance lawyer serving Bradenton, call 941-444-4444
Traveling to Florida From Another State
Just 12 states have no-fault insurance laws. Therefore, if you are coming from out of state, then your insurance may or may not cover you in Florida. Many insurance companies offer nationwide coverage, but you should phone and check before traveling out of state. If you are not covered, your own insurance company may be able to offer you coverage for Florida, or you may have to take out a new insurance policy while you are away.
If you have been accused of traveling without proper insurance, and it is because you have come from out of state, then you could still be charged as harshly as someone with no insurance. Ignorance is not a guaranteed defense as it is your duty to educate yourself about the driving laws in the state you wish to drive in. However, an experienced Bradenton car accident lawyer will have an understanding of how to best manage your case. Just by having a personal injury lawyer by your side, you show the judge that you are taking the matter seriously, and they may be more likely to show leniency.
Bradenton No Motor Vehicle Insurance Lawyer Near Me 941-444-4444
What If Your Insurance Policy Has Expired?
If your insurance policy expired and you failed to renew it, then the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) has the right to suspend your license for up to three years. If you cannot show that you took out a new policy before your last one ended, then you could be treated as an uninsured driver.
However, skilled Bradenton car accident lawyers have experience with these types of cases and will give you the best chance at keeping your license. They may be able to work out a plea deal with the judge. If you are searching for the best attorney for your case, you should ask them about their track record working out plea agreements.
What Are the Charges for Driving With No Motor Vehicle Insurance in Bradenton, FL?
Following a Bradenton car accident, you could face some harsh penalties if you did not have the proper insurance coverage, particularly if there are injured victims. Even if there is no car accident claim brought against you, you could still be facing penalties, and you could benefit from the support of a law firm, such as The Law Place.
- First offense – Your license will be suspended for a maximum of three years. When you are able to obtain a new license, it will cost $150 to have it reinstated. Furthermore, if you were in a Bradenton car accident, you could be found liable for the victims’ damages, which could equal a very large sum.
- Second offense – Your license will be suspended for a maximum of three years, and if the offense occurred within three years of the first, then your license reinstatement fee will rise to $250.
- Third or subsequent offenses – Again, your license will be suspended for a maximum of three years. If your offenses are within 3 years of one another, then your reinstatement fee will be $500.
Facing the loss of your license could be a life-altering penalty. But there are ways that Bradenton car accident lawyers may be able to help. Contact The Law Place today for a free consultation, and we will give you advice based on your individual case’s circumstances in a free consultation.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Is It a Criminal Offence to Drive Without Insurance in Bradenton?
It is a criminal offense to drive without insurance in Florida. However, if you are found to be driving without insurance, you could face a first-degree misdemeanor, in accordance with Florida Statute 316.646. The punishment for which is up to one year in prison.
How Can the FHSMV Find Out if You Do Not Have Car Insurance?
If you are not involved in a car accident, you may think you will never be found out for having insurance. However, your insurance company could have a system in place that alerts the FMSMV when your policy expires or lapses, making it easy for them to bring charges against you.
If this happens, you will receive a license suspension notice in the post, along with an invitation to provide evidence of a new insurance policy before the other one ended.
What if You Are Involved in a Bradenton Car Accident With No Insurance?
Following any kind of auto accident, you should contact our team of Bradenton car accident lawyers at The Law Place for a free consultation.
You will have no obligation to continue with our representation. But, at the very least, you will receive free legal advice that will allow you to continue your journey with more knowledge and confidence about your next steps.
However, if you were in a Bradenton car accident without insurance, then you may need the help of an attorney to try and minimize the consequences that you could face, which include hefty fines, a license suspension, and even potential jail time if the car accident was serious.
Sometimes the other party may have uninsured motorist coverage, which means that their insurance will cover the accident’s financial costs and save you from paying their damages. This will take a lot of stress from your shoulders. However, you could still be facing a license suspension.
What if the Other Party Has No Insurance?
If you were in a Bradenton car accident and the other party did not have insurance, then under Florida’s no-fault laws, you may still be able to claim your damages from your own insurance company. However, if you were in a serious accident, your damages may quickly exceed your policy’s limits.
When this happens, you might be covered by uninsured motorist insurance. If not, then you could be looking at filing a personal injury claim against the other driver. Following car accidents, the last thing that victims want to do is deal with insurance companies, and if the other driver did not have insurance, then the process becomes even more complex. But you do not need to face the stress alone.
If you have been in an auto accident and the other driver was not insured, then contact our team of Bradenton car accident lawyers today for a free consultation. We will be able to advise you on your next steps.
What Will Defense by a Trafic Offense Lawyer Cost Me?
There are no set rates for enlisting the help of a defense lawyer. The price could be affected by things like the severity of the charges brought against you, whether you have a criminal record, and any other external factors, such as extensive property damage or personal injury.
But fear not, at The Law Place, we will always be upfront about our costs before you commit to representation so that you do not end up with any surprise bills.
Contact The Law Place in Florida Today!
Contact The Law Place today for a free consultation, and we will give you free advice at no obligation to you. We have over 75 years of combined experience in personal injury cases, car accident claims, and dealing with motorists with no insurance.
Unlike other law firms, we will assess your situation as a team so that you can benefit from our combined knowledge. We will then come up with a plan of action, and an attorney who is most suited to your case will become your advocate. They will listen to your worries and do everything they can to ease your stress.
Furthermore, most of our attorneys are AVVO 10.00 rating. This is the highest possible rating and is based on things like years of experience, qualifications, and awards.
Call us today for your free consultation at (941) 444-4444.