In Tampa, FL., and across the United States, it is illegal to drive a motorized vehicle without the correct driving insurance. If you get caught driving, in Tampa, without any insurance, you could face a myriad of charges. They can range from anything as small as a fine, all the way up to losing your license.
Losing your license can impact your life massively. Your earning potential will be drastically reduced by your inability to commute to jobs. This can lead to lost wages. Any journey you wish to take will take considerably longer when you are forced to take public transport. If you have an accident and you do not have motor vehicle insurance, you will be held liable for all damages and personal injuries caused by the crash. These costs can be astronomical and can seriously impact your quality of life.
Here, at The Law Place, our personal injury lawyers have a wealth of experience in dealing with no insurance accidents and will be able to help defend you in the event one occurs. Our team has a combined experience of over 75 years, and by working together, we will make sure you benefit from every second of it during your claim.
If you find yourself accused of being the cause of a no insurance accident in Tampa, FL., then call us today for a free consultation. During this no-obligation consultation, you will be offered some advice on how to proceed with your case. In this meeting, you will be fully protected by the attorney-client relationship. This should put your mind at ease and allow you to divulge any sensitive information so we can assess your claim. A car accident lawyer from our team will handle contact with the other party’s insurance company and ensure that you are protected from as many financial costs as possible.
Insurance Requirements in Florida Tampa
“No-fault” laws apply to anybody driving cars on the road in Florida. Meaning that, in accordance with the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV), you will be required to possess a minimum Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance coverage and a minimum property damage liability insurance.
When traveling to Florida from anywhere else in the US, it is important to remember that you will not be covered by your existing insurance policy. In the State of Florida, you can only be covered by an insurance company based in Florida. So, when purchasing new insurance, ensure that it’s with an insurance company with a Florida address.
A great many insurance companies offer nation-wide insurance. This may be transferable and valid in Florida. Before driving in the State of Florida, you must contact your insurance company, and they will advise you on whether this is possible.
Courts in Florida operate under the premise that ‘ignorance is not a defense.’ Therefore, claiming that you were not aware that your insurance coverage does not extend to Florida will not serve you well. As the operator of a vehicle, you have a duty of care to ensure that your vehicle is registered and insured with the correct insurance company.
What Are the Charges for an Uninsured Driver in Tampa, Florida?
If you are caught driving without insurance in Tampa, you could face several potential penalties. The severity of these penalties depends on how many prior offenses you have committed, for example:
- First offense – On your first offense, you can expect your license to be suspended for up to three years. You will then be charged a fee of $150 when the time comes to reinstate your insurance.
- Second offense – On your second offense, your license can be suspended for, again, up to three years, but you will be expected to pay $250 to reinstate your insurance.
- Third (and subsequent) offense – On your third offense, the suspension period is the same, up to three years, but you will now have to pay $500 to reinstate your insurance.
Our team of Tampa car accident lawyers are well versed in cases such as these and can help you avoid the most severe consequences. Do not waste any time before you contact The Law Place.
Is It a Criminal Offence to Drive Without Insurance in Tampa?
If you are stopped by the police in Tampa and knowingly provide insurance details that have expired, you may be facing a first-degree misdemeanor, in accordance with Florida Statute 316.646. You could be facing up to a year of imprisonment.
The police in Tampa have been known to run routine crackdowns on uninsured drivers and issue many citations. Due to this, it is very difficult to get away with driving without insurance, and drivers should not presume that they will.
How Can the FHSMV Find Out If You Do Not Have Car Insurance?
People often think that due to the large size of the FHSMV, a single uninsured driver will slip through the cracks and go unnoticed. This is not the case. All drivers in Tampa should be aware that your insurance company has a system in place that notifies the FHSMV when your insurance policy expires or lapses. This makes it very easy for them to catch you.
When this occurs, you will receive notice of the suspension of your insurance in the post, along with an invitation to provide evidence of a new insurance policy before the date of your suspension. You must prove that your new insurance policy began before the last one ended in order to be valid.
Car accidents are another way that drivers who do not have insurance can be caught out. After a car accident, both drivers involved are required to exchange the details of their respective insurance companies and, in some cases, if the accident is severe enough, the authorities as well. If you are involved in an accident, and you do not have the proper insurance, it can become quite a costly affair.
If you have been involved in an accident and your insurance has lapsed, please call us at The Law Place for a free consultation today with our Tampa car accident lawyers.
What Are the Consequences of Causing a Vehicle Accident as an Uninsured Driver?
Being involved in an auto accident as an uninsured driver can quickly become very complicated and very expensive.
Florida is a ‘no-fault’ state. This can make a no insurance car accident financially devastating, regardless of which party is deemed at fault. The ‘no-fault’ laws state that each driver must go through the other driver’s insurance company in the event of a crash.
In some cases, uninsured drivers can get lucky. If the other party has taken out uninsured motorist coverage, it could save you from some serious financial costs. These insurance policies are designed for drivers with insurance to be protected against those without insurance in the event of car accidents. These policies will cover all damages, including medical bills, personal injuries, pain and suffering, and lost wages.
In the event that serious personal injury or death was caused by a car accident you were involved in, things can become much more difficult. You must then obtain an SR22 certificate, which requires you to acquire extra coverage above the usual requirements. You must contact your insurance company to acquire one of these policies, and it must contain coverage that includes very expensive bodily harm insurance. If you find yourself in an accident where serious personal injury or death has occurred, and you are uninsured, it is unlikely that you will find an insurance company willing to offer you this cover. In addition to this, you may never be able to drive legally again.
Regardless of the scale or severity of any car accidents you may have caused while uninsured or the harshness of the personal injury caused, we advise you seek legal assistance immediately.
Contact a personal injury lawyer today. Our team at The Law Place is always happy to help.
What If the Uninsured Accident Was Not Your Fault?
Unfortunately, if you were involved in a car accident while uninsured, even if it was not your fault, you will still be liable for any harm done by the crash. In the absence of car insurance, you will be responsible for all personal damages caused to the other party, and you must pay out of your own pocket. This includes, but is not limited to, personal injury, medical bills, property damage, and loss of earnings. In addition to this, you will still face the penalties covered above for driving without insurance.
That being said, all is not lost. Even as an uninsured driver, you are still eligible to claim in a civil personal injury lawsuit if the other driver is deemed as at fault. Here, at The Law Place, we have a team of experienced Tampa car accident lawyers, ready to help you claim compensation in the case of:
- Pain and suffering
- Medical bills
- Lost wages
If you have been in an accident that was not your fault, and you have no insurance, please call The Law Place today for a free consultation. An experienced motor vehicle lawyer will assess the validity of your claim.
What Will Representation From a Traffic Offense Lawyer Cost Me?
Unfortunately, there are no set rates when enlisting the help of a traffic offense lawyer. The price can be affected by several factors, which include your criminal record, the severity of the charges against you, and any other external factors that may affect the case. These external factors are likely to be increased if the accident has caused personal injury or property damage.
Here at The Law Place, we will always explain our costs and fees to you upfront in your free consultation. We pride ourselves on honesty and transparency with all of our costings, so you can feel safe in the knowledge that you will not receive a surprise bill in the post. Regardless of who was at fault or the severity of the charges against you, please call us today and let us help you out of a bad situation.
Tampa No Motor Vehicle Insurance Lawyer, FAQ
What should I do if I’m involved in a car crash in Tampa and don’t have insurance?
If you’re involved in a car crash in Tampa and lack insurance, it’s important to remain at the scene and exchange information with the other parties involved. You should also contact law enforcement and seek legal advice from an experienced car accident lawyer, especially if there are injuries or significant property damage.
Can I still file an insurance claim if the at-fault driver doesn’t have insurance?
Yes, you can still file an insurance claim if the at-fault driver is uninsured. Your own insurance policy may have uninsured motorist coverage that can compensate for damages. It’s advisable to consult with a car insurance attorney to understand your options.
What are the risks for motor vehicle owners in Tampa driving without insurance?
Motor vehicle owners in Tampa who drive without insurance face significant risks, including legal penalties, fines, and liability for damages and medical expenses in the event of an accident. Florida law requires drivers to have a minimum level of insurance coverage.
How do experienced car accident lawyers assist with auto insurance claims?
Experienced car accident lawyers can assist with auto insurance claims by negotiating with insurance companies, ensuring that you receive fair compensation for damages and injuries, and guiding you through the complexities of automobile insurance claims.
What types of compensation can I seek in a car insurance claim for a car crash in Tampa?
In a car insurance claim for a car crash in Tampa, you can seek compensation for medical expenses, property damage, lost wages, and pain and suffering. The specific types of compensation will depend on the details of the accident and the coverage available.
How do personal injury attorneys navigate automobile insurance claims when there’s no insurance?
Your attorney will explore alternative avenues for compensation, such as filing a personal injury claim against the at-fault driver or tapping into uninsured motorist coverage, if available.
What impact do Florida’s insurance laws have on car accident claims?
Florida’s insurance laws impact car accident claims significantly, as the state follows a no-fault insurance system. Under this system, each driver’s insurance covers their own medical expenses and lost wages through PIP (Personal Injury Protection) insurance, regardless of who is at fault.
Can I pursue a personal injury claim in Tampa if the other driver is uninsured?
Yes, you can pursue a personal injury claim in Tampa if the other driver is uninsured. This involves filing a lawsuit directly against the at-fault driver to recover damages for injuries and losses suffered in the accident.
How does PIP insurance work in Tampa car accident claims?
In Tampa, PIP insurance covers medical expenses and a portion of lost wages, regardless of who is at fault in a car accident. Florida law requires all motor vehicle owners to have a minimum amount of PIP insurance.
What legal options do I have in Tampa if involved in an accident without car insurance?
If you’re involved in an accident without car insurance in Tampa, it’s important to consult with a car insurance attorney. They can advise you on potential legal options, which may include negotiating payment plans for damages or defending against lawsuits filed by other parties.
Speak to One of Our Tampa Car Accident Attorneys Today
If you have been accused of driving in Tampa without insurance or have been in a car accident and have been found to not have the correct coverage, you should seek legal aid as soon as you can.
At The Law Place, our team of experienced Tampa car accident lawyers is ready to handle every aspect of your claim. Our lawyers have a wealth of experience to draw from and will do everything in their power to ensure that you receive the best treatment and the best results for your case. You can feel safe in the knowledge that our fee structure will be explained, a member of our team will deal with the insurance companies and will be waiting to take your call at all hours of the day.
For more information and free, impartial legal advice, please contact our offices at (941) 444-4444.