Operating a vehicle without proper insurance is against the law in Florida and throughout the United States. If you are found to be driving without the insurance that is required by the state that you are in, then you could face fines, license suspension, and, in some cases, even jail.
If you are involved in an accident and are uninsured, then the ramifications could be incredibly serious. You may be left liable for the other parties’ damages, such as their medical bills and lost wages, without an insurance company behind you to front the bill. You may even face punitive damages, which are designed to punish you for not having insurance.
Florida has specific insurance requirements, which makes it common for people to be caught driving with insufficient coverage, often unknowingly.
If you have been accused of driving without proper insurance, then you need a North Port car accident lawyer to support you. At The Law Place, we have over 75 years of combined experience in Florida law, and we are prepared to review your case and advise you on how to proceed. And, because of the attorney-client privilege, you do not need to worry about revealing incriminating information. We are here to support and guide you regardless.
Our phone lines are open 24/7, so contact us today at (941) 444-4444.
Insurance Requirements in North Port, Florida
Car accidents are common occurrences in Florida, as are personal injury settlements. However, since 2007 the number of people claiming against another party following a car accident has dropped. This is because of the introduction of Florida’s no-fault laws, as outlined in Florida Statute 324.023.
Under this law, drivers must initially seek damages from their own insurance company, regardless of who was at fault for the accident. However, if someone was not at fault for the accident, and their damages exceed the limits of their policy, then they can still claim from the at-fault driver’s insurance company.
Under Florida Statute 627.736, each driver is required to carry a minimum level of insurance that will cover them in case of an accident, regardless of fault. The minimum amount is $10,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) and $10,000 in property damage. If your insurance does not meet these specifications and you are driving in Florida, then you could still be charged with driving without sufficient insurance.
Traveling to Florida From Another State
Only 12 states have no-fault insurance laws, so if you live out of state, then your insurance could be invalid. However, most insurance companies offer nationwide coverage. It is worth checking before you travel out of state. If you are not covered, then call your insurance company, and they should be able to give you temporary coverage while you are away.
If you drive without the correct insurance because you come from out of state, then you could still be treated as if you had no insurance at all. Ignorance is not a guaranteed defense as you have a duty to be educated about the rules of the road where you are driving. However, a North Port car accident lawyer will know how to best handle your case.
What if Your Insurance Policy Has Expired?
If your insurance expires and you fail to renew it, then the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FHSMV) may suspend your license for up to three years. If you cannot prove that you took out new insurance before your previous policy ended, you could be treated as an uninsured driver.
A North Port car accident attorney will understand how to best approach your case. They may be able to work out a plea deal with the judge where you can keep your license, or they may help you to apply for a hardship license.
What Are the Charges for Driving With No Motor Vehicle Insurance in North Port, Florida?
- First offense – Your license could be suspended for up to three years, and it will cost $150 to have it reinstated. If you were involved in a car accident, you may also have to pay for the victim’s damages, which could equal a very large sum.
- Second offense – Your license will be suspended for up to three years. If you were charged within three years of the first offense, then your reinstatement fee will be $250.
- Third or subsequent offenses – Your license will be suspended for up to three years. If your offenses are within 3 years of one another, your reinstatement fee will rise to $500.
Is It a Criminal Offence to Drive Without Insurance in Florida?
It is a criminal offense to drive without insurance in Florida, and this could constitute a first-degree misdemeanor. A first-degree misdemeanor is punishable by up to one year in prison.
How Can the FHSMV Find Out if You Do Not Have Car Insurance?
Apart from being involved in a car accident, the FHSMV may find out that you do not have insurance if your car insurance policy alerts them when yours has expired or lapsed.
When this happens, you will receive a license suspension notice and a request for proof of an insurance policy that was obtained before your last policy ended.
What if You Are Involved in a North Port Car Accident With No Insurance?
Following a car accident, you should contact The Law Place for a free consultation. You will receive free legal advice at no obligation, so you will have the freedom to decide whether you want to continue with representation afterward. You might need the help of an attorney to minimize the consequences you face, such as license suspension, large fines, or even jail time if the accident was serious enough.
If the other party has uninsured motorist coverage, then their policy will pay for their damages. While this will mean a big weight off your shoulders, you could still face the suspension of your license.
What Will Defense From a Traffic Offense Lawyer Cost Me?
There is no set rate for hiring a traffic offense lawyer. It will depend on the severity of your charges as well as the specific circumstances of your case and your criminal history.
However, at The Law Place, we will be upfront about all of our costs so that you are not left with any surprise bills. You will have all the information you need before you agree to representation. At which point, we will get right to work on developing a strong defense in order to limit the consequences you face.
Contact The Law Place in Florida Today!
Contact us today for a free consultation. We have over 75 years of combined experience and will tackle your case as a team so that you can benefit from our combined knowledge. Let us guide you through the legal process.
Most of our attorneys are AVVO rated 10.0. This is the highest possible rating and is based on years of experience, qualifications, awards, and positive client reviews.
Call us today at (941) 444-4444. Phone lines are open 24/7.