If you have experienced a DUI arrest in Bradenton, it is undoubtedly a stressful time. We understand that this is a nerve-wracking situation both for you and your loved ones. DUI cases in Florida are known to be penalized severely. If you are facing a DUI conviction, you need the help of Bradenton DUI attorney immediately. They will get to work right away to build you a strong defense and making you aware of your legal rights.
At The Law Place, our lawyers have over 75 years of combined experience in dealing with Bradenton DUI cases similar to yours. If you are facing DUI charges and need the help of a reputable law firm, do not hesitate to get in touch. Contact us today for a free consultation at (941)-444-4444.
What Is a DUI Offense?
In Bradenton, DUI refers to driving under the influence. Under Florida law, these offenses carry severe penalties with life-changing consequences, and the possibility of jail time. A law enforcement officer will charge a person with DUI if any of the following circumstances are relevant:
- The driver’s blood alcohol level was .08% or greater. Minor drivers can be charged if they have a level of .02% or greater.
- The driver is visibly impaired by chemical substances.
- The driver is visibly impaired by controlled substances.
Penalties for DUI Cases in Bradenton FL
As mentioned previously, DUI charges in Manatee county come with enhanced penalties. The Florida department of police punish harshly for traffic offenses in the interest of overall public safety. If you are facing a DUI charge in Manatee county, it is crucial that you seek the assistance from one of DUI attorneys immediately, so they can work to get your case reduced or dropped entirely. If your lawyer can get your case dropped, you will not face serious consequences both now and in the future.
First-time offenders face less severe penalties than those who have prior DUI convictions, but it does not mean you don’t face criminal charges. If your breath tests results state that your blood alcohol level is at .08% but below .15%, you can expect the following:
- A $1,000 fine.
- Six months imprisonment.
- 50 hours of community service.
- One year of probation.
- DUI school.
- Vehicle impoundment for ten days.
- Loss of driving privileges between 180 days to one year.
If this is your second offense, it should not be a surprise that you will face a more severe DUI conviction. The time between each offense may also impact the severity of the penalties received. It is likely that the court in Bradenton will order the offender, when arrested, to serve a minimum of 10 days in jail as well as driver’s license suspension.
Some of the typical penalties awarded to second-time DUI offenders include:
- A $2,000 fine.
- Nine months imprisonment.
- One year of probation.
- 30 days of vehicle impoundment.
- Installation of an ignition interlock device for six months.
- Driver’s license suspension between 180 days and one year.
In the state of Florida, including Manatee county, you will face a felony conviction if you are charged with a third DUI conviction within 10 years. Your license will be automatically suspended, and you will face several factors such as years in jail and hefty fines. If you or a loved one are in this position, it is crucial you contact a DUI lawyer immediately.
DUI cases usually involve serious bodily injury, but in the worst scenarios, they involve fatalities. DUI manslaughter refers to when you accidentally cause the death of another person by driving under the legal limit and losing physical control of your vehicle. This offense can be classified as a third-degree felony, which under Florida law are extreme offenses to be facing.
The amount of jail time you receive will depend on the court ruling. For a DUI manslaughter case, you can usually expect to spend a minimum of 4 years in prison.
What do I Do If I Am Caught Driving Under the Influence in Bradenton FL?
If you are arrested for DUI in Bradenton, Manatee county, remember to remain calm. Listed below are a few things that you can do to help your case and will make your DUI lawyers challenges easier.
Don’t Admit Fault
In all criminal defense cases, anything you can say to law enforcement can be held against you in court. The worst thing you can say is that you were aware that you were driving under the influence. If you do this, it makes it very difficult for Bradenton DUI attorneys to get your case dropped or reduced.
You should answer any simple question that is asked to you by the police officer, but avoid any kind of detail. It is vital that you do not answer any of these questions without the presence of your DUI attorney. Your DUI defense lawyer will be able to advise you on what you should and shouldn’t divulge when being questioned. Throughout all of the arrest, do not give the officer any reasonable suspicion through your behavior. Remain calm and respectful at all times. Being respectful can lead to a much more favorable outcome later.
Cooperate With the Law Enforcement Officer
In Manatee County, when you are being pulled over, you will be asked to step out of your motor vehicle, followed by field sobriety tests. It is highly advised to cooperate and take the tests. In some cases, they might also later ask for a urine sample. It is important to do as the office asks, as if you refuse to take a breath test, you might be found guilty quickly of DUI.
DUI attorneys at The Law Place are aware that breath tests are commonly produced wrongly, displaying incorrect results. Your test will be thoroughly examined by your DUI defense attorney, and can be used in order to help get your case dropped. If your criminal defense lawyer is able to prove that your breath test was administrated incorrectly, your case can get dropped.
Contact The Law Place Today!
At The Law Place, we have DUI attorneys who have worked on cases similar to yours in Manatee county and across the state of Florida. If you have been arrested for DUI in Bradenton, it is important that you act quickly. The more time you give our DUI attorneys to build a strong defense for your case, the better the outcome will be. They will work to get your case reduced, or in the best cases, dropped, keeping your driving privileges.
To speak to one of our DUI attorneys today and book a free case review, phone our offices now at (941)-444-4444.