Many drivers in Clearwater, FL, will be uninsured. This consequently makes it very difficult to claim damages if you have been involved in a serious car accident with an uninsured motorist. In Florida, you will be able to approach your own insurance company for compensation for your personal injury or damages. However, if your damages exceed the policy limits outlined by your insurance company, you may not receive the full amount of compensation you are entitled to for your accident and injury.
The Law Place in Florida has a skilled legal team with over 75 years of combined experience. Our law firm has the legal experience to help you navigate the complex uninsured motorist laws in Florida. It is possible with the help of a personal injury lawyer to claim compensation from the uninsured motorist or another party partially at fault for your accident. You could be able to receive compensation from the car manufacturer or local authorities who were at fault.
Contact us today at The Law Place if you have been the victim of an uninsured motorist accident for a free consultation with one of our attorneys. We can give you all the legal advice you may be seeking. Call us today on (941) 444-4444.
In This Article
- Auto Insurance Laws in Florida
- Uninsured Motorist Accidents Liability in Clearwater
- Seeking Compensation in Clearwater
- Discovery of Hidden Assets
- Filing a Claim Through Your Own Insurance Company
- Contact The Law Place Today!
Auto Insurance Laws in Florida
According to the Florida Statute 627.7407 (5a), every motorist is legally required to have at least $10,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) insurance coverage and $10,000 in property damage that includes uninsured motorist coverage. Every individual involved in an uninsured motorist accident is expected to initially claim from their own insurance company, regardless of who the party at fault was. Although, if your damages exceed the limits outlined by your insurance company, you may need to claim from the party at fault as well. However, if the party at fault is an uninsured motorist, you may struggle to receive all of the damages of which you are entitled to.
The state of Florida does not require motorists to have uninsured motorist coverage. Although having uninsured motorist coverage on your insurance will protect you if you are involved in a serious accident. It will also protect you if the party at fault was an uninsured motorist as you may still be covered by your own insurance.
A personal injury lawyer at The Law Place will be able to help you if you have been involved in an accident with an uninsured driver in Clearwater, FL. Contact us today in Florida for a free consultation or legal advice surrounding uninsured motorist coverage.
For a free legal consultation with a uninsured car accidents lawyer serving Clearwater, call 941-444-4444
Uninsured Motorist Accidents Liability in Clearwater
If you have been involved in a motor accident in Clearwater, you should be able to file a personal injury claim against the driver at fault. Although, if the other driver does not have insurance, they may not have the assets necessary to compensate you for your damages.
When you contact The Law Place in Florida for a free consultation, one of our accident attorneys will ask you a few simple questions to establish whether you have a claim.
To prove liability in Clearwater, you will have to prove the negligence of someone else. Negligence often requires that you can prove the following:
- You were owed a duty of care – In Florida, motorists automatically owe a duty of care to other road users when on the road to keep them safe. The local authorities also owe you a duty of care to keep the roads safe. Car manufacturers owe you a duty of care also to keep your vehicle safe.
- Breach of duty – Someone’s recklessness breached that duty of care, resulting in your accident. To prove this breach, you will need to prove that the person did not act as a reasonable person would have.
- Causation – You will need to prove that the breach caused your injuries, both physically and emotionally.
- Damages – You will have to prove that your injuries resulted in costs such as medical bills and lost wages. You may also be able to claim for pain and suffering.
If the negligent driver was uninsured, you might be able to claim from your Clearwater uninsured motorist coverage. If you are unable to do this, you may be able to take the uninsured driver to court to claim damages.
This process may seem a little daunting and overwhelming. We can help you. The Law Place has a wealth of experience dealing with similar cases to yours in Clearwater. Contact us today for a free consultation, and we can honestly give you your best legal options.
Clearwater Uninsured Car Accident Lawyer Near Me 941-444-4444
Seeking Compensation in Clearwater
According to the law in Florida, if you establish liability, you should be able to recover damages to cover your medical bills, property damage, lost wages, and more. If you have lost a loved one to an uninsured motorist accident in Clearwater, you could be able to receive compensation covering funeral expenses and loss of income to the family household.
Often, when filing a suit against an uninsured driver, you will be, unfortunately, be left with uncompensated damages. This is usually because the driver at fault does not possess the assets required to compensate you. Judges in Clearwater will also be unlikely to award you a large amount of compensation if they are aware that the defendant would be unable to pay it.
Although don’t worry, there are often avenues you can explore to receive the damages you are entitled to. We advise that you seek the help of an experienced law firm in Florida. Contact The Law Place if you have been left suffering from an injury that was not your fault. We can help you achieve the compensation that you deserve.
Discovery of Hidden Assets
It could be discovered that the uninsured driver at fault for your accident has hidden assets or money. If this is the case, you will be able to claim compensation. To investigate this, you will need the help of a skilled lawyer to run a credit check against the driver. If your lawyer discovers hidden assets, they may be able to freeze the accounts to ensure that the money will be there to compensate you.
For the best chance of you receiving the full amount of compensation that you are entitled to, contact The Law Place as soon as you can following an incident.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Filing a Claim Through Your Own Insurance Company
After people suffer car accidents in Florida, they are required to inform their insurance companies. Insurance companies usually have a policy that highlights how long you have to inform them of the incident; it is usually 24 hours. You need to inform your insurance company as quickly as possible in case the driver at fault does not have insurance. This is because you often have less time to claim from your insurance under most coverage that involves a driver without insurance.
It is important to remember that insurance companies are big businesses. We advise that you are mindful of what you tell your insurance company straight away as you could unintentionally devalue your claim. Keep it brief and factual until you have the chance to talk to an experienced law firm. They will then be able to advise you what to say and, in some cases, will even be able to speak to the insurance company on your behalf.
Filing a claim for compensation where the driver at fault does not have compensation can be complicated. For the best chance of you receiving the compensation, you deserve for your injury or damages, speak to a law firm immediately. The Law Place can help you.
Contact The Law Place Today!
The Law Place has helped countless clients receive compensation and damages from drivers with no insurance. We do not shy away from complex cases. An attorney-client relationship at The Law Place is one of immense commitment and confidentiality. You can be assured that your case will be in the most capable hands.
We cover cases in Clearwater, St Petersburg, Tampa, FL, and all over the state. Don’t hesitate to contact us today if you are thinking of filing a claim. You can call us on (941) 444-4444.