All drivers in St. Petersburg, FL., are required to have a valid driver’s license by law. If you have been caught by the police driving without a valid driver’s license, you can expect to face some serious penalties. This is classified as a criminal offense, and you may require some legal advice. A traffic offense attorney at our law firm will be able to share with you all of their legal knowledge and advise you of your best possible course of legal action.
The law in Florida is incredibly strict when it comes to traffic violations, and many people fail to recognize just how serious traffic-related offenses of this nature can be. At The Law Place, we have helped clients throughout Florida achieve the best possible outcome after being caught driving without a license. An attorney-client relationship at our law firm is one of great commitment and trust. No matter if this is your first offense or tenth offense, our criminal offense attorneys can help you. To schedule a free consultation with one of our reputable defense lawyers, call our main office today.
What Does the Law Say About Driving Without a License in St. Petersburg?
The law in Florida is particularly strict when it comes to traffic offenses. Therefore, if you are caught driving on a suspended license or driving without a license, you will likely be in serious trouble with the police. You are not allowed to drive if your license has been suspended or revoked. Florida Statute 322.03 outlines the law and penalties for driving while your license is suspended or revoked.
It is also important that drivers possess the correct driver’s license for the vehicle they are operating. If a driver has a driver’s license, but it is not valid for the vehicle they are operating, they can be charged. If you have any questions about what the law in Florida says about driving with no license or while your license was suspended, call a criminal defense attorney at our office today. In a free consultation, an attorney will be able to answer all of your questions and offer you some important legal advice.
What Happens if You Get Caught Driving Without a License in St. Petersburg?
If you are caught driving by police in Florida without a license, you could be convicted with a misdemeanor. If you are not a habitual traffic offender, it is unlikely that you will face a felony conviction. If you are caught, this is what is likely to happen:
- Law enforcement will hand you a traffic ticket.
- You may then be charged with a second-degree misdemeanor.
- Law enforcement will effectively arrest and release you at the scene.
- You may then be handed a court date that you will be required to attend.
- If found guilty, you will face a conviction and its penalties.
If you have been caught driving while your license was suspended or with a revoked driver’s license, the best possible thing you can do is contact a criminal defense attorney at our law firm immediately.
What Are the Penalties for Driving Without a License in St. Petersburg?
Driving with a driver’s license suspension or a revoked driver’s license is classified as a criminal offense, and those caught can be charged with a second-degree misdemeanor. If you are charged with a second-degree misdemeanor, you will likely be handed a maximum fine of $500. It is possible that you may also have to spend 60 days in jail. If you wish to avoid jail time, you must phone a criminal defense attorney at our law firm as soon as possible. Our criminal defense attorneys are highly skilled and experienced. They will do all that they can to ensure that you avoid jail time.
If you have a clean driving record, the chances are that you will not be sentenced to jail. However, if you don’t have a driver’s license and have caused an accident and/ or have been driving under the influence (DUI), the penalties that you will face will be much more severe. If you are a habitual traffic offender, you may also be facing a felony conviction.
How Long Can I Drive With an Expired License in St. Petersburg?
Although it is greatly frowned upon, driving with an expired license is considered to be less of a criminal offense than driving while a license is suspended or revoked. However, this does not mean you will escape trouble. The chances are that you will still face some form of penalties.
In St. Petersburg, drivers of motor vehicles are allowed to operate their vehicles on the Florida roads for six months after their license has expired. Once these six months have passed, and a driver is caught without a valid license, law enforcement can arrest them. If a driver is caught within the first six months after their license has expired, they will likely be charged with a $30 fine.
What Should I Do if I Am Caught Driving Without a License in St. Petersburg, FL?
If you have been arrested for driving without a license in Florida, you should contact one of our criminal defense attorneys for a free consultation. An attorney at our main office will be able to share with you their knowledge and offer you the invaluable advice you may seek. A lawyer will also be able to explain the whole legal process and will fight for your case if you decide to hire them.
If you decide to be our client, we would strongly recommend that you check whether you are eligible for a pre-trial division program. An attorney at our law firm can help you with this.
This process would mean that you would have to pay some money to retrieve your license. If you successfully complete the program, the chances are that your charges will be dropped. Once this has happened, an attorney can work to help get the damage removed from your driving record. Call our office today if you have any queries.
What Defenses Can a Criminal Defense Attorney Use?
It doesn’t matter if you’re a habitual offender or this is your first offense, a criminal defense attorney at The Law Place can help you. We have helped countless clients who have been faced with a first-degree misdemeanor, a second-degree misdemeanor, or even felony charges. We have a great deal of knowledge and experience defending our clients against their traffic-related offenses. Some of the most common defenses that we use are:
- Our client was stopped and detained unlawfully by law enforcement at the scene.
- The accused was not on a public highway when stopped by law enforcement.
- Our client did have a valid license. They just did not have their license on them at the time.
- The state does not have enough evidence to prove that the accused was driving without a valid license.
If you have been caught driving on a suspended license or without a valid license, you need to act quickly. The sooner you contact an attorney at our firm, the greater the chance you have of getting your charges lessened or dropped. This is because you will be giving our attorneys plenty of time to gather all of the necessary evidence to build you a strong case ahead of your court date.
What Are the Exemptions to the Requirement to Possess a Driver’s License?
There are a few exceptions to the Florida law that requires all drivers to possess a valid license in St. Petersburg. These exceptions are as follows:
- People operating farming machinery.
- People operating golf carts.
- A driver who is at least 16 years old and operating a vehicle that requires a Class E driver’s license and not a Florida resident but has a valid non-commercial license from their home country or state.
- A driver who is at least 18 years old and not a resident of Florida but has a valid non-commercial license in their home country or state.
Contact The Law Place Today!
If you have been arrested for driving with no valid license, we will do all that we can to help you avoid jail time and protect your record. Everyone makes mistakes, and you should not have to suffer because of a moment of misjudgment.
Our office is open 24 hours a day, seven days a week, to listen to your call. To schedule your free consultation, phone us now.