To most people, driving is a necessity of life in the State of Florida. A driver’s license enables people to safely take their children to school and helps them to get to work on time, rather than taking the bus or other public transportation that can cause them to be late. There are many reasons why people need a vehicle to get around – transportation is an essential aspect of everyday life.
However, there are some people who can take it too far, such as impulsively getting behind the wheel without having a driver’s license. It is very dangerous for anyone to make the decision to drive without a license, as they might not know what they are doing, or they could potentially cause harm to other road users, or they could even end up in a car accident themselves. In the end, there are serious consequences for making the decision to drive without a license in Tampa.
If you have been charged with driving without a license in the State of Florida, then we highly recommend that you get in touch with a skilled criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible. The Law Place has over seventy-five years of combined experience and knowledge when it comes to defending clients who have been caught driving without a license in Tampa. Our practice areas cover personal injury claims, DUI’s, reckless driving, car accidents, and even more traffic violations.
If you call our law firm today, we can set up a free case evaluation where a criminal defense lawyer will be able to discuss the details and facts of your case and offer you some words of advice on the next move that they believe is right to make in your current situation. An essential part of our work includes building a trusting attorney-client relationship with everyone who seeks help and representation from our law firm – no matter what the case is about.
Don’t delay. Get in touch with The Law Place today. Contact us now on (941) 444-4444 for a free consultation, and we will fight your driving without a license charge together.
Driving Without a License in Tampa, FL.
One of the main rules of the road is that every driver is required to hold a valid license in order to drive on the roadways in the State of Florida.
Florida Statute 322.03 covers the rules and regulations of driving licenses and penalties, and it also states that:
In other words, it is completely against the law to get behind the steering wheel without a valid license. Those who are caught driving without a license, or they were driving with a suspended or revoked license will be facing serious consequences for this criminal offense.
For a free legal consultation with a driving without a license lawyer serving Tampa, call 941-444-4444
Types of Driving Without a License in Tampa, FL.
In the State of Florida, every person who drives a motor vehicle on the roadways and highways must be in possession and be able to display a valid driver’s license at all times. Otherwise, they will be facing penalties and consequences.
- Driving without a valid license – This criminal offense is recognized as a misdemeanor in the State of Florida. If a driver is convicted of this offense, then they will have to spend up to 60 days in jail, and they will also receive a fine of up to $500. The same can be applied if the driver’s license has expired or they have not yet renewed it. In the event that the driver’s license is expired, they could still be subject to a criminal offense or a civil fine. However, if they do not have a valid license at all, then they will be facing legal complications in the State of Florida.
- License not in possession – This criminal offense usually occurs in the event that a driver fails to show their driver’s license to the police officer who pulls them over. If the driver is caught on the road without their license physically on them at the time of the stop, they could still be subject to criminal charges, even if they do have a valid driver’s license. Every driver must be prepared to show their license when they are stopped by the police, which is why it is always important to keep it on you.
- Exemptions – There are certain exemptions that can be made for certain people, including military personnel and non-residents, which means that they could possibly be exempt from driver’s license requirements.
Tampa Driving without a License Lawyer Near Me 941-444-4444
Driving While License Suspended or Revoked in Tampa, FL.
As the saying goes, driving is a privilege, not a right. If a driver is caught operating their vehicle while they have a suspended, restricted, or revoked license, then they will most likely be facing hefty fines, jail time, and their vehicle will also be impounded in Tampa.
- First offense – A driver who is caught on the road with a suspended or revoked license for the first time will face up to 60 days in jail, and they will also receive a fine of up to $500.
- Second offense – A driver who is caught on the road with a suspended or revoked license for a second time will face up to one year in jail, and they will also receive a fine of up to $1,000. In addition, their vehicle will be impounded.
- Third offense – A driver who is caught on the road with a suspended or revoked license for a third or subsequent time is considered a felony in the State of Florida. The penalties include facing up to five years in prison and also receiving a fine of up to $5,000. However, the driver can be perceived as a habitual violator if they commit three offenses within the time period of five years, which means that they will be facing increased fines and jail time, and also a five-year license revocation.
- Without knowledge – In the event that the driver was not aware that their license was suspended or revoked, they will be issued a $60 fine to pay. This offense is considered a moving violation.
Click to contact our Tampa Criminal Defense Lawyers today
Contact The Law Place Today
If you have been charged with driving without a license in Tampa, then you will need the skills of a criminal defense lawyer to help you out. The Law Place has years of experience when it comes to assisting clients in Tampa and across the State of Florida to beat their driving on a suspended license or driving without a license charge. Our law firm has the necessary skills and knowledge to fight your case, and we will be at your side every step of the way.
The Law Place has an in-depth understanding of the law in the State of Florida, and we will be able to guide you through the legal system with clear efficiency. An honest attorney-client relationship is very important to our law firm, and we will work hard to see that your charges are reduced, and we will even try to get the case dropped altogether – depending on the facts surrounding your case. Rest assured that we will defend your legal rights and achieve a reasonable outcome for your case.
Don’t hesitate to reach out to The Law Place today. Contact us now on (941) 444-4444 for a free consultation, and we will fight your driving without a license charge together.
Call or text 941-444-4444 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form