If you have been caught driving in Florida without a valid driver’s license, you may be worried about the consequences linked to a conviction. Driving without a valid driver’s license in Florida is a serious crime that is dealt with severely. Florida Statute 322.03 outlines the laws concerning drivers’ licenses and the penalties for not following these laws. No matter whether your driver’s license has been suspended or revoked, if you are caught, you could face fines and time in jail. This is why you must seek the legal representation of a highly skilled criminal defense attorney from a reputable law firm.
At The Law Place, we have helped countless people who have been arrested for driving with no valid license escape the worst penalties for their offense. No matter your Florida driving offense, our law firm can help you. Contact our law firm for a free consultation today at (941) 444-4444. Phone lines are open 24/7.
In This Article
- What Happens if You Get Caught Driving Without a License in Punta Gorda?
- How Long Can I Drive With an Expired License in Florida?
- Do You Have to Take an Eye Exam to Renew Your License in Florida?
- What Are the Potential Defenses to the Charge of Driving Without a Valid Driver’s License?
- Contact a Criminal Defense Attorney
What Happens if You Get Caught Driving Without a License in Punta Gorda?
If you are caught driving with no valid driver’s license on you, you will likely be arrested, as driving with no valid license can be charged as a misdemeanor. Here is what you can expect to face:
- A law enforcement officer will give you a ticket considered to be a criminal charge.
- You will likely be charged with a second-degree misdemeanor.
- If this happens, you will effectively be arrested and released at the scene. It will then be your responsibility to show up to your court date.
- If you are found to be guilty, you could face 60 days in jail and up to $500 in fines.
If you have been caught driving when serving your license suspension or have had your driver’s license suspended or revoked, the best thing that you can do is contact a criminal defense attorney for some legal advice. Contact our law firm office today for your free initial consultation.
For a free legal consultation with a driving without a license lawyer serving Punta Gorda, call 941-444-4444
How Long Can I Drive With an Expired License in Florida?
Driving in the State of Florida with an expired license is considered to be less serious than driving with a suspended or revoked driver’s license. However, this doesn’t mean that you’ll escape any penalties. You will usually have up to six months following the expiration of your license before driving with it becomes a criminal violation. If you are caught driving with an expired license in the first sixth months of the expiry, it is considered to be a Florida traffic infraction, and you will be charged a $30 fine.
Driving with an expired license sixth months after it has expired is considered to be a criminal offense, and you could face the following:
- Up to 60 days in county jail.
- Up to $500 in fines.
- Up to six months of probation.
Make sure you renew your license to avoid any criminal offenses. If you have been caught driving with an expired driver’s license, one of our criminal defense attorneys at our law firm will be able to help you. Contact us today to schedule your free consultation.
Punta Gorda Driving without a License Lawyer Near Me 941-444-4444
Do You Have to Take an Eye Exam to Renew Your License in Florida?
If you are a driver of a vehicle in Florida, you must renew your license every 8 years if you are 79 years old or younger. Drivers who are 80 years old or older are required to take an eye exam every time they renew their license, and they must renew it every 6 years. These eye exams can be completed for free by your personal medical or eye doctor or at the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FHSMV).
What Are the Potential Defenses to the Charge of Driving Without a Valid Driver’s License?
If you are a driver who has been caught operating your vehicle with no valid license, a criminal defense lawyer may be able to help you. Some of the common defenses we have used to help our clients with similar cases to you are as follows:
- You were not driving on a public street or highway.
- You possessed a foreign or out-of-state license that was valid.
- You have a license, but it simply was not on you.
- Law enforcement stopped your vehicle unlawfully or unlawfully detained you following the traffic stop.
- The state does not have enough evidence to accuse you of the traffic offense.
A traffic defense attorney at our law firm can help you if you have been caught driving unlawfully. You can rest assured that it is unlikely that you will be convicted of a felony.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Contact a Criminal Defense Attorney
If you have been caught driving your vehicle with no license, our attorneys can help you. No matter if it is your first offense, second offense, or third offense, you could be facing severe penalties. A criminal defense attorney at The Law Place will act as your legal representation and can offer you all the legal advice you need.
An attorney-client relationship at our firm is one of immense commitment and loyalty. You can trust us to help you with your offenses. Our practice areas cover the whole of Florida, so we can help you in Punta Gorda.
If you have been caught driving with a suspended license, an expired license, or with no license at all, call a criminal defense attorney today. Our office is open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, to listen to your call. Call now to schedule your free consultation with a defense attorney at (941) 444-4444.