It is against Florida law to operate a vehicle under the influence of drugs and/ or alcohol. Driving under the influence (DUI) is a very serious crime in St. Petersburg, and if you have experienced a DUI arrest, the chances are that you will be facing some very severe penalties. You could be facing jail time, you will likely be handed hefty fines, and you could lose your driving privileges. At The Law Place, we strongly recommend that you seek the legal aid of one of our DUI defense lawyers if you have experienced a DUI arrest. You should especially be seeing legal help if this is not your first charge of drunk driving.
The DUI defense lawyers at our law firm have helped countless clients escape the very worst penalties for their DUI cases. With the help of a DUI attorney, you may be able to keep hold of your driver’s license and much more. An attorney-client relationship at The Law Place is one of immense commitment and loyalty. We promise that we will do all that we can to ensure that your DUI charge results in the best possible outcome for you. If you contact us today for a free consultation, we will be able to answer all of your questions and offer you all the legal advice you may be needing. Our main office is open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Call the office now.
In This Article
- What Happens When You Get a 2nd DUI in St. Petersburg, FL?
- What Happens if My BAC Is Over the Legal Limit?
- What Are the Penalties for a Second DUI Conviction in St. Petersburg, FL?
- Will I Suffer a Driver’s License Suspension for a Second DUI Charge?
- What Are the Penalties for a Third DUI Charge in St. Petersburg?
- What Is an Ignition Interlock Device?
- Will I Have to Complete Community Service Following My DUI Charge?
- Can I Beat My St Petersburg DUI Charge if I Have Multiple Previous Criminal Cases?
- What Defenses Can Criminal Defense Attorney Use on My DUI Case?
- Can a Criminal Defense Attorney Help Me?
- How Much Will a Second DUI Charge in St Petersburg Cost Me?
- Are Two DUIs Classified As a Felony in St Petersburg, FL?
- Can I Protect My Criminal Record in Florida?
- How Long Does a Charge of Driving Under the Influence Stay on Your Driving Record?
- Contact The Law Place Today!
What Happens When You Get a 2nd DUI in St. Petersburg, FL?
Florida Statute 316.193 outlines how you can be charged with a second DUI in Florida. To be arrested for driving under the influence (DUI), your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) must be over the legal limit. You can also be arrested for DUI if you are caught driving while your normal faculties were impaired.
Normal faculties are simply the day-to-day mental and physical activities that a person undertakes with little thought. For example, the normal faculties of a person include breathing, talking, balancing, controlling bodily functions, and much more. If you are caught driving by law enforcement in St. Petersburg with these faculties impaired, you will likely face a DUI driving charge.
For a free legal consultation with a 2nd or 3rd dui offense lawyer serving St. Petersburg, call 941-444-4444
What Happens if My BAC Is Over the Legal Limit?
If you are pulled over by law enforcement in St. Petersburg, FL., for drink driving, you will likely be made to complete a breath test. If the breath test reveals your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) to be over the legal limit, you will likely be subject to a DUI arrest. If you have prior DUI cases on your record, the chances are that you will be facing much tougher penalties.
You must seek the legal advice and aid of a criminal defense lawyer if you have been arrested for DUI in St. Petersburg, FL. A DUI lawyer will do all they can to ensure that you escape the worst penalties for your DUI driving charge.
St. Petersburg 2nd or 3rd DUI Offense Lawyer Near Me 941-444-4444
What Are the Penalties for a Second DUI Conviction in St. Petersburg, FL?
It should come as no surprise that if you have multiple driving under the influence (DUI) cases on your criminal record already, the penalties for an additional charge will be much more severe than the penalties you received for your initial criminal charge. If you have been caught driving under the influence for a second time within five years of your first conviction, you will have to serve a mandatory 10 days of jail time. In addition to this, depending on the severity of your charge, you may face the following penalties for a second charge:
- One year of jail time if your BAC is .15% or above.
- One year of jail time if there was a minor in your vehicle at the time of your arrest.
- One year of jail time if your recklessness caused minor injuries or property damage.
- Five years of jail time if your DUI caused serious injuries.
- If your BAC was below .15%, expect to face fines between $1,000 and $2,000.
- If your BAC was above .15% or if you had a minor in your vehicle, expect to face fines between $2,000 and $3,000.
- If your DUI conviction was within five years of your first DUI charge, your vehicle could be impounded for 30 days.
Will I Suffer a Driver’s License Suspension for a Second DUI Charge?
If you have been arrested for DUI and you already have multiples DUI cases on your record, you will likely suffer a driver’s license suspension. For a second charge within five years of their first charge, a court will typically charge a person with a driver’s license suspension that can last anywhere between 6 to 12 months. During this driver’s license suspension period, a person will be unable to apply for a hardship license.
A person must serve their whole driver’s license suspension period before they can apply to get their driver’s license reinstated. If you are worried about losing your driver’s license because of your DUI charge in St. Petersburg, FL., contact a criminal defense attorney at our law firm today for a free consultation.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
What Are the Penalties for a Third DUI Charge in St. Petersburg?
If you already have multiple DUI convictions on your record and you are facing your third DUI charge in St. Petersburg, Florida, we strongly recommend that you contact a criminal defense attorney at our law firm immediately. DUI convictions are incredibly serious, and they can result in very severe penalties. A DUI attorney at our law firm will be able to examine your case to determine whether it is possible to escape the very worst penalties.
You must seek the help of an experienced and reputable criminal defense lawyer because the penalties for a third DUI charge are as follows:
- If your third offense occurs within ten years of your previous offenses, you will serve a minimum of 30 days and a maximum of five years jail time.
- You will face fines between $2,000 and $10,000.
- Your driver’s license may be suspended for a minimum of 10 years.
- Your vehicle can be impounded for 90 days.
What Is an Ignition Interlock Device?
An ignition interlock device is a small device that is installed in a vehicle to ensure that a person does not drive whilst being under the influence of alcohol. An ignition interlock device works because a person has to complete a breath test before they can start their vehicle. If the test results state that the driver’s BAC is over the legal limit, the vehicle will not start. The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FHSMV) outlines the rules and guidelines surrounding ignition interlock devices clearly.
The amount of previous DUI convictions you have will determine how long you have to have the ignition interlock fitted on your vehicle. For example:
- If your BAC was below .15% and it was your first charge, it is unlikely that you will have to use one of these devices.
- If it is your first DUI charge and your BAC was above .15%, you will likely have an ignition interlock device fitted on your vehicle for six months.
- For a second DUI charge, you will have one fitted for one year if your BAC was below .15%.
- For a second DUI charge, you will have a device fitted for a minimum of 2 years if your BAC was above .15%.
- For your third and subsequent DUI charges, you will have a device fitted for a minimum of 2 years.
Will I Have to Complete Community Service Following My DUI Charge?
There is a great chance that you will have to complete community service following your DUI arrest in St. Petersburg, Florida. For your first charge, you will likely have to serve 50 hours of service in your local community. However, it may be possible to pay an additional fine of $10 for every hour of service you are charged and would rather not complete.
For a second and third charge of DUI in St. Petersburg, there is no mandatory length of service that you will have to serve in your community. The length of community service that offenders are charged with lies within the discretion of the judges ruling on their cases. Please contact one of our DUI attorneys at The Law Place if you have been arrested for DUI in Florida. Our experienced and reputable DUI attorneys will happily be able to explain to your the mandatory probation, jail time, community service, and fines that you may be facing. We have helped countless clients in St. Petersburg escape the toughest penalties for DUI.
Can I Beat My St Petersburg DUI Charge if I Have Multiple Previous Criminal Cases?
With the help of a reputable criminal defense attorney at our law firm, it is possible to beat your DUI. Our attorneys have worked on multiple cases, helping countless clients escape the worst penalties for their offenses. If you have multiple previous convictions, don’t worry! Our attorneys can help you. Florida law concerning DUI is rather complicated, but our attorneys will be able to guide you through everything.
For your best chance of getting your case of DUI dropped or reduced, you need to contact one of the defense lawyers at our firm as soon as possible. The sooner you contact us in Florida, the more time a lawyer has to build you a strong defense case. To schedule your free consultation with one of our lawyers, contact our office today.
What Defenses Can Criminal Defense Attorney Use on My DUI Case?
The attorneys at our law firm have much experience defending clients against their DUI charges in Florida. Some of the most common defenses that our attorneys use include in St. Petersburg the following:
- Improper field sobriety test – It is not unusual for law enforcement to use field sobriety tests on drivers who they assume are drunk driving. These tests, however, are famous for producing inaccurate results. They are purposely designed to get people to fail them. Our lawyers will question the legitimacy of these tests in the defense of their clients.
- Insufficient probable cause – In cases of DUI, law enforcement officers must have a legitimate and probable reason for pulling a vehicle to a stop. If one of our lawyers can prove that you were not doing anything wrong, but law enforcement pulled your vehicle regardless, the prosecutor in your case may be more willing to dismiss the case.
There are multiple more defenses that our attorneys use for their clients. For more information on how we can defend you, contact us to schedule a free consultation. In this free consultation, an attorney will be able to briefly examine your case and offer you some honest and unbiased legal advice.
Can a Criminal Defense Attorney Help Me?
The law in Florida is incredibly strict when it comes to traffic violations. This is why it is important to seek the legal representation of an experienced and reputable defense attorney. With the help of a criminal defense attorney, your DUI charge may be able to get reduced to a “wet reckless” or “reckless driving” charge instead. The penalties for these charges are far less severe than those penalties for a DUI charge. Also, by getting your charge reduced, you may be able to retain your driver’s license.
We understand how important a driver’s license can be to a person in Florida, and this is why we make it our priority to fight to ensure that our clients can keep hold of them. Everyone makes mistakes. You should not have to suffer because of a few moments of misjudgment.
How Much Will a Second DUI Charge in St Petersburg Cost Me?
The fines for a second DUI charge in Florida range anywhere between $1,000 and $2,000. It is difficult for us to tell you how your court expenses will be. This is because all cases vary greatly. If you are concerned about how much your court costs may amount to, please don’t hesitate to contact an attorney at our office today for a free consultation. An attorney will be able to briefly examine your case and give you an idea, from their experience, how a DUI case of your nature will play out in court.
If you decide to hire an attorney at our law firm, you can feel rest assured knowing that your attorney will have an immense amount of legal knowledge and experience. Your case will be fought in some of the most capable hands.
Are Two DUIs Classified As a Felony in St Petersburg, FL?
A first and second DUI charge in Florida will typically be charged as a misdemeanor. However, third offenses and offenses that involve injuries and death will more than likely be classified as felonies in St. Petersburg.
Felony charges carry much more severe penalties than misdemeanor charges. If you have been arrested for DUI and you are unsure whether you will be convicted with a felony or misdemeanor, contact an attorney at our law firm today. Regardless of whether you are facing a misdemeanor or a felony, we can help you.
Can I Protect My Criminal Record in Florida?
Unfortunately, if you have been arrested and charged with DUI in Florida, it is very difficult to protect your criminal record. This is because the state law prohibits the expungement of DUI convictions.
Expungement in the United States simply refers to the legal process of sealing or destroying a charge to conceal a conviction from a criminal record. Most people wish to conceal their previous convictions as they don’t want them to affect their chances of finding employment. Unfortunately, this is not possible with DUI convictions in Florida. If you want clarification on this or have any questions, contact an attorney at our firm today for a free consultation. They will be able to explain this to you more clearly.
How Long Does a Charge of Driving Under the Influence Stay on Your Driving Record?
DUI convictions will remain on a person’s record for 75 years in Florida. For most people, this will be for the rest of their lives. This can be very problematic, especially as you cannot get DUI convictions expunged from your record. This is why it is important to speak to an attorney today.
Contact The Law Place Today!
If you have been arrested for DUI in St. Petersburg and you are facing your second or third DUI charge, it is important that you contact a reputable and experienced DUI attorney as soon as possible. The penalties for such a charge are very severe and could alter the lives of you and your family dramatically. You shouldn’t let a moment of misjudgment change your life forever. If you contact us today for a free consultation, an attorney will be able to offer you some crucial legal advice and guidance in that consultation.
Our office is open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. To schedule your free consultation, call us now.