All drivers in that State of Florida are required to have a valid license if they wish to travel on the roads. If you have been caught driving without a valid license by police and have been arrested, you may require some professional legal advice.
The law in Florida is very strict when it comes to traffic offenses. Many people fail to understand just how serious driving on a suspended license or without a valid license can be. The consequences that a person can face if they are charged for such an offense are severe.
If you have been caught driving in Port Charlotte without a valid license, you should contact a reputable and highly skilled criminal defense attorney. At The Law Place, we have over 75 years of combined experience working within Florida law and have helped countless clients escape the very worst penalties for their mistakes. If you have been arrested, our criminal defense attorneys can help you.
Call today to schedule a free consultation at (941) 444-4444. Phone lines are open 24/7.
What Does the Law Say About Driving Without a License in Port Charlotte?
The law in Florida is very strict against traffic offenses. It is against the law to drive without a valid license. This means that if you are not allowed to drive if your license has been suspended, revoked, canceled, or has expired. A driver who is arrested for driving without a license will likely face harsh penalties. Florida Statute 322.03 sets out exactly what the law states in regards to driving without a license and the penalties that a person caught can expect to face.
It is also very important in Florida that a driver has the correct driver’s license for the vehicle they are driving.
For a free legal consultation with a driving without a license lawyer serving Port Charlotte, call 941-444-4444
What Happens if You Get Caught Driving Without a License in Port Charlotte?
If a police officer catches and arrests you for driving without a valid license in Port Charlotte, you could be charged with a misdemeanor. This is how things will likely play out if you are caught:
- A police officer will hand you a ticket which can be considered to be a criminal
- It is then likely that you will be charged with a second-degree misdemeanor.
- You will then effectively be arrested and released at the scene.
- You will be handed a court date which you must attend.
- If found guilty, you will face punishment.
It is highly unlikely that you will be charged with a felony. If you have been caught driving without a valid driver’s license and you are worried about the consequences, the best thing you can do is contact a criminal defense attorney at our law firm. In a free consultation, a criminal defense attorney will be able to use all of their knowledge to advise you of your best legal options. An attorney-client relationship at our law firm is one of great loyalty and commitment. You can trust that we will do all that we can to fight for your case.
Port Charlotte Driving Without a License Lawyer Near Me 941-444-4444
What Are the Penalties for Driving Without a License in Port Charlotte?
Driving without a valid driver’s license in Florida is classified as a criminal offense, and drivers caught driving without one can be charged with a second-degree misdemeanor. Drivers who are charged with this will likely face a fine worth up to $500. Guilty drivers may also have to spend a maximum of 60 days in jail. Please do not worry too much about these penalties. Following your arrest, you should immediately contact our criminal defense lawyers for a free case evaluation. We have helped countless clients avoid jail and the very worst penalties for their mistakes.
Also, if you have a clean criminal record with no prior criminal convictions, the chances are that you will not have to serve any jail time.
If you have caused an accident and/or are caught driving under the influence (DUI) and found without a license, you will likely face much tougher consequences.
How Long Can I Drive With an Expired License in Port Charlotte?
Although frowned upon, driving with an expired driver’s license in Florida is deemed to be less of a criminal offense than driving with a suspended or revoked driver’s license. Nevertheless, this does not mean that you won’t be charged. It is likely that you will still receive some form of penalties for your Florida offense.
In Port Charlotte, a driver is allowed six months following the expiration of their driver’s license to drive on the road. Once these months are up and a driver is caught without a valid license, law enforcement could arrest them. Within the first six months of a license expiring, a driver caught on the Florida roads without a valid license can expect to be charged with a $30 fine.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
What Should I Do if I Am Caught Driving Without a License in Port Charlotte?
Following your arrest for driving without a valid driver’s license in Port Charlotte, you should schedule a free consultation with a criminal defense lawyer at our law firm immediately. We will be able to share with you all of our knowledge and offer all the legal advice you may be seeking. We can guide you through the whole process and fight for your case if you decide to hire one of our criminal defense attorneys in Florida.
Our attorneys also strongly recommend that you check if you are eligible for a pre-trial division program. A member of our legal team at our law firm can also help you with this.
Completing this program will require you to pay money to retrieve your license. If you successfully manage to complete the program, there is a chance that your criminal charges may be dropped. One of our attorneys from our legal team will then begin work on removing the damage caused to your criminal record. Don’t hesitate to call our office today to schedule your free consultation with one of our lawyers if you have any questions.
What Defenses Can a Criminal Defense Attorney Use?
The lawyers at our law firm have helped countless clients escape the worst punishments when they have been caught driving without a valid or with a suspended license. We have years of experience defending clients charged with traffic-related offenses. Some of the most common defenses that our lawyers choose to use are as follows:
- The accused was unlawfully stopped and detained by law enforcement at the scene.
- The accused was not on a public highway when stopped by law enforcement.
- The accused did have a license. They simply did not have it on them at the time.
- The state does not have enough evidence to prove that the accused was driving without a license.
If you have been caught without a license or with a suspended license, it is crucial that you act quickly. The sooner you act, the greater the chance our lawyers will be able to win your case. This is because it enables our legal team more time to gather evidence to build you a strong case to have your case dropped or charge lessened.
Exemptions to the Requirement to Possess a Driver’s License
There are a few exceptions to this rule in Florida. Not all drivers are required to be in possession of a license if they wish to drive on roads. Although few, these exceptions include:
- People operating farming machinery.
- Golf cart operators.
- A driver of a vehicle that requires a Class E driver’s license who is at least 16 years old and not a Florida resident but in possession of a non-commercial license from their home state or country.
- A driver who is at least 18 years old and not a Florida resident but in possession of a non-commercial license from their home state or country.
Contact Our Law Firm Today!
If you have been arrested for driving with no driver’s license in Port Charlotte, our law firm can help you. All of our lawyers have lots of experience defending those arrested with traffic-related charges. You should not have to suffer a tough punishment for a mistake. We understand that everyone makes mistakes, and that is why we want to help you.
An attorney-client relationship at our firm is one of great commitment and loyalty. You can trust that your defense lawyer will do all that they can to ensure that you get your case either dropped or reduced.
You must contact us as soon as you can for your best chance of winning your case. Our office is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week, to listen to your call. Phone us for your free consultation today at (941) 444-4444.