In Bradenton, FL., it is illegal to take to the roads without a valid driver’s license. Florida holds very strict laws against driving with no license, and therefore, if you are caught driving without a license in Florida, then you may face severe punishments and penalties.
If you have been caught or arrested for driving without a license in Bradenton, FL., then it is highly advised to seek the knowledge of a criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. At The Law Place, we have a knowledgeable team of attorneys with an abundance of experience dealing with traffic violation cases and similar practice areas. Our phone lines are open around the clock, so you can contact us at any time of day and receive valuable legal advice and support. Call us today at (941) 444-4444 and arrange a free consultation with an adept attorney.
In This Article
- What Does Driving With No Valid Driver’s License Mean?
- Exemptions for Driving Without a License in Bradenton
- Penalties for Driving in Bradenton Without a Driver’s License
- Additional Penalties for Driving Without a License in Bradenton
- Defenses for Driving Without a License in Bradenton, FL.
- Call The Law Place Today!
What Does Driving With No Valid Driver’s License Mean?
It is illegal to drive a vehicle on the roads or highways in Florida unless a driver has the correct license issued by the appropriate government authority. Florida Statute 322.03 highlights the rules and regulations for driving in Florida, as well as the penalties that may be issued if you are caught driving without a license.
What the State of Florida defines as a ‘driver’s license’ is highlighted in Florida Statute 322.01. To put it simply, it is a certificate that grants a person permission to legally drive a vehicle. To ‘drive’ means that the defendant must have been in actual physical control of operating a motor vehicle. Furthermore, ‘motor vehicles’ can be defined as any self-propelled vehicle that is not powered or moved solely by human power. In other words, ‘motor vehicles’ include all common types of road vehicles but excludes motorized wheelchairs and bicycles.
If you have any further questions about what law actually entails, then The Law Place is always on hand to help. Our lawyers are highly knowledgeable and can offer valuable legal support and advice.
For a free legal consultation with a driving without a license lawyer serving Bradenton, call 941-444-4444
Exemptions for Driving Without a License in Bradenton
In Bradenton, as in the State of Florida, there are a few exemptions to the law that states drivers must be in possession of a valid driver’s license. Such exemptions to the law include:
- Those who operate golf carts or buggies.
- Those who operate farm machines, such as tractors and plows.
- A person who is at least 16 years old and not a resident of Florida but is in possession of a non-commercial driver’s license from their own state or country and is operating a vehicle that requires a Class E driver’s license.
- A person who is at least 18 years of age but not a resident of Florida and possesses a valid non-commercial driver’s license from their own country or state.
Bradenton Driving Without a License Lawyer Near Me 941-444-4444
Penalties for Driving in Bradenton Without a Driver’s License
If a traffic officer catches you for driving without a license in Bradenton, then it is likely you will face a second-degree misdemeanor charge. Penalties for a second-degree misdemeanor can include up to sixty days in jail and a fine of up to $500. However, if this is your first criminal offense, and you have no prior convictions, then it is unlikely you will be issued a jail sentence.
If facing criminal charges, it may be possible that you are eligible for a pre-trial division program. If you are able to complete this program and stay out of any trouble, then you may be able to get your criminal charges dropped. Once successful in dropping your charges, you can then start the process of having your charges removed from your criminal record.
Additionally, even if you do have a valid driver’s license, if you fail to show your license when stopped by a traffic officer, then it is still possible to be charged. Therefore, it is so important to always carry your driver’s license with you when taking to the roads.
Additional Penalties for Driving Without a License in Bradenton
If you are known to be a habitual traffic offender or are caught driving without a license for a second or third time, then any punishments and penalties you receive are likely to be elevated. For example, if you are caught driving without a license for a second or third time or for any subsequent offenses, then your charge will increase to a felony. Even third-degree felony charges are punishable by $5,000 payable in fines and up to 5 years behind bars.
If you are caught driving without a valid license on at least three occasions over the course of 5 years, then you may be perceived as a habitual traffic offender and receive a further elevation of penalties, including a 5-year license revocation. In addition, if a driver is not aware that their license has been suspended or revoked, then the offense is considered to be a moving violation, which is punishable by a $60 fine.
If you or a loved one is caught driving without a valid driver’s license in Florida, then it is strongly recommended to seek legal advice from a criminal defense lawyer. A knowledgeable attorney will be able to guide you through the legal process and support you every step of the way.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Defenses for Driving Without a License in Bradenton, FL.
By seeking the help of a traffic lawyer, you are likely to greatly increase your chances of having any penalties dropped or even eliminated. A skilled attorney will work to build a defense strategy that can stand up in court and challenge any charges you may be facing. Some of the most common defenses include:
- The defendant possessed a valid driver’s license; it simply wasn’t in their possession when they were stopped by an officer.
- The defendant possessed a valid license. However, it was a foreign or out-of-state license.
- The defendant was unlawfully stopped or detained by officers following their traffic stop.
- The defendant was not driving on a highway or street that was open to the public when they were stopped.
- The prosecution does not have sufficient evidence to reasonably prove that the defendant was driving a vehicle with no valid driver’s license.
The sooner that a traffic defense attorney can begin working on your case, then the greater chances you have of achieving the best possible outcome. What are you waiting for? Contact The Law Place today to get started with your case.
Call The Law Place Today!
If you are facing criminal charges for driving without a valid license in Bradenton, then it is likely that you will be seeking the legal representation of a traffic defense attorney. At The Law Place, we have a highly skilled team with over 75 years of combined experience in handling traffic-related cases similar to yours.
At our law firm, we understand how stressful and frightening facing criminal charges can be, which is why we pride ourselves on developing an honest attorney-client relationship built on trust. Your lawyer will be by your side to support and guide you through the legal process every step of the way. Many of our lawyers are AVVO rated 10.0, which is the highest possible rating, so you can rest assured your case will be in knowledgeable and competent hands.
Our Florida phone lines are open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, so you can call us at any time of day, and a criminal defense lawyer will be happy to help. Call us at (941) 444-4444 and receive a free consultation with a skilled traffic defense attorney.