After an accident, we may go into flight mode, panic, and flee the scene of an accident. However, as noted in Florida Statute 316.062, it is a legal requirement for all drivers to stop following an accident, especially if it involved death. Failure to do so would be classed as a criminal offense and will result in serious legal consequences. Penalties for leaving the scene of an accident involving death could result in hefty fines and a time on probation or in prison.
If you or someone you know has been accused or charged with leaving the scene of an accident that involved the death of another person, then it is vital to seek representation from a criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. At The Law Place, we have a highly skilled team of attorneys with an abundance of experience in defending the accused.
Contact our offices in Bradenton and receive a free consultation from an adept attorney. Our phone lines are open around the clock, so you can rest assured an experienced lawyer will be on hand to offer legal information and advice whenever you need us most. Call us today on (941) 444-4444 and get started with your case today.
In This Article
- Florida Statutes Relating to Leaving the Scene of an Accident Involving Death
- Penalties for Leaving the Scene of an Accident Involving Death in Bradenton, FL.
- Possible Defences for Leaving the Scene of an Accident Involving Death
- Contact The Law Place in Bradenton, FL. Today!
Florida Statutes Relating to Leaving the Scene of an Accident Involving Death
Leaving the scene of an accident, more commonly known as a hit and run, is not an uncommon crime in Florida. According to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV), between 2015 and 2019, there were 507,648 hit and run crashes that resulted in 1037 traffic fatalities.
As noted in Florida Statute 316.062, any driver who is involved in a car accident that either results in property damage or the death of another person is required by law to stop at the scene of an accident. Failure to do so is considered to be a criminal offense and is classified as a first-degree felony.
As outlined in Florida Statute 316.027, the driver’s statutory duties are as follows:
- The driver must stop their vehicle as close to the scene of an accident as it is safe to do so.
- Any driver involved in an accident must give all required information to investigating officers or the other driver. Information includes their full name, contact details, vehicle registration, and license information.
- Drivers should remain at the scene of the accident and offer “reasonable assistance” to any persons involved.
- Drivers must report the accident to law enforcement.
For a free legal consultation with a leaving the scene involving death lawyer serving Bradenton, call 941-444-4444
Penalties for Leaving the Scene of an Accident Involving Death in Bradenton, FL.
If you are convicted of leaving the scene of an accident that involved the death of another person in Bradenton, then it is highly likely that you will face a first-degree felony charge. Penalties for a first-degree felony conviction may include a prison sentence or probation period of up to 30 years and a $10,000 fine. Additionally, it is likely that your driver’s license will be revoked for a minimum of three years, and no hardship license can be obtained until an Advanced Driver Improvement Course has been completed.
Due to the seriousness of the penalties and punishments that are associated with leaving the scene of an accident involving death in Bradenton, you will need to seek representation from a skilled criminal defense attorney as soon as you can. A knowledgeable attorney will be able to offer valuable legal advice, information, support throughout the legal process.
Bradenton Leaving the Scene Involving Death Lawyer Near Me 941-444-4444
Possible Defences for Leaving the Scene of an Accident Involving Death
A criminal defense lawyer in Bradenton will assess the circumstances surrounding your case and will work to build a defense strategy that can be used to fight against the prosecution. Possible defenses that could be put forward on your behalf following an arrest could include:
- There has been a case of mistaken identity; you were not the driver who left the scene of an accident.
- You did not have knowledge of the accident.
- You were not aware that the accident was serious and, therefore, did not know that you were required to stop.
- Your own injuries prevented you from providing aid or reporting the accident.
- You did not leave the accident willingly, but there were certain circumstances that meant that you could not remain at the scene.
- It was not safe to stop at the scene of the accident.
- The other driver involved refused to take your information.
- The other driver forced you to leave the scene of the accident.
- You offered reasonable assistance as within the terms of the statute.
- The victim died as a result of delayed medical treatment, not because you left the scene.
At The Law Place, we will ensure you receive the best outcome possible that may see your charges reduced or even dropped entirely. It is worthwhile noting that many of our lawyers are AVVO rated 10.0, which is the highest possible rating. An AVVO rating is given based on a number of factors. These factors include the length of practice served and the number of awards issued. Trial skills, client reviews, and testimonials are also considered to be contributing factors. Call our offices in Bradenton today for a free case evaluation.
Contact The Law Place in Bradenton, FL. Today!
If you have been accused or charged with leaving the scene of an accident involving death in Bradenton, then you should seek the advice of a criminal defense attorney as soon as you possibly can. At The Law Place, our lawyers have over 75 years of combined experience in defending the accused and helping those in situations similar to you. We understand how traumatic facing criminal charges can be, which is why our lawyers will be here to support you every step of the way.
Call our law firm today to arrange a free consultation. Our phone lines are open 24/7, so we can be on hand to offer legal support and guidance at any time of day. What are you waiting for? Call us today at (941) 444-4444.