The State of Florida takes the crime of driving under the influence very seriously. There are some options available to those who have committed their first DUI offense, but things get more challenging when you find yourself facing a 2nd or even a 3rd DUI charge, and you could even be up against the prospect of a felony conviction.
The experienced team of criminal defense lawyers at The Law Place can help you navigate the difficulties that come with a charge of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. No matter how serious you think your charges are, hope is not lost, and with our help, there are always avenues to a positive outcome.
Call us for a free consultation with a DUI defense lawyer. We can give you legal advice with no obligations. Our prestigious law firm has helped clients throughout the State of Florida fight their DUI charges, and we can do the same for you.
Our telephone number is (941) 444-4444. We are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
Driving Under the Influence in Bradenton, Florida
Bradenton describes itself as Florida’s “friendly city,” and with its abundance of tourist attractions, restaurants, and bars, it’s certainly an exciting place to be. However, it can be easy to get caught up in the fun and end up taking the wheel after a night of drinking. Like all cities in Florida, drink driving is a common crime. In fact, according to resposibility.org, over thirty-two thousand drivers in Florida were arrested for DUIs in 2018 alone.
According to Florida DUI Law, being under the influence of alcohol, any chemical substances, or a controlled substance whilst in control of a motor vehicle is a criminal offense. Law enforcement will charge you with a DUI if they can establish impairment of your normal faculties or take a blood alcohol or breath alcohol level reading of .08% or over. The penalties for a conviction will largely be based on whether this is your first DUI or if you have committed this offense before.
According to the Florida Department for Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FHSMV), for a standard first DUI arrest (BAC under 0.15%), you will face a fine between $500 and $1,000. You will also face a license suspension of 6 months to 1 year. However, things get more serious if you commit a subsequent DUI, and legal representation will be even more crucial.
For a free legal consultation with a 2nd or 3rd dui offense lawyer serving Bradenton, call 941-444-4444
What Happens if You Get 2 DUIs in Florida?
In Florida, a second DUI conviction is classified as a second-degree misdemeanor, and the penalties are as follows:
- If the second DUI offense was committed within five years of your first DUI offense, your license would be suspended for a minimum of 5 years, with no possibility of a hardship license within the first year.
- If the second DUI offense was committed five years after your first DUI offense, your license would be suspended for a minimum of 180 days (maximum of one year).
- A fine between $1,000 and $2,000.
- If the second DUI offense was committed within five years of your first DUI offense, you would face a minimum of ten days in jail if you are successfully convicted. Under certain circumstances, you could face up to up to 9 months in jail.
- If a minor was is in the vehicle at the time of your arrest, or if your BAC is higher than .15%, the fine will be increased ($2,000 to $4,000).
- A misdemeanor conviction that will remain on your record.
You may also be facing additional penalties if your DUI involved an accident that resulted in property damage or serious bodily injury. If you need help understanding your charges, one of our DUI lawyers can help. Call us now for your free consultation.
Bradenton 2nd or 3rd DUI Offense Lawyer Near Me 941-444-4444
What Happens if You Get 3 DUIs in Florida?
A third DUI conviction is sometimes classified as a second-degree misdemeanor. However, depending on the time frame, you could even face felony charges.
- If the third DUI offense was committed within ten years of your second DUI offense, your license would be suspended for a minimum of 10 years, with no possibility of a hardship license within the first two years.
- If the third DUI offense was committed ten years after your second DUI offense, your license would be suspended for a minimum of 180 days (maximum of one year).
- A fine between $2,000 and $5,000.
- If your BAC is higher than .15, the fine will be increased ($4,000 to $6,000).
- If you are convicted of a third DUI after being convicted of another DUI within the last 10 years, you will be facing third-degree felony charges. These charges come with serious penalties, including a fine of up to $5,000 and up to 5 years in prison with a minimum of 30 days in jail.
It is important that you take the appropriate steps to have your DUI charges reduced or dropped in order to avoid these serious and life-altering consequences. An experienced criminal defense lawyer from The Law Place can help. Call today to schedule a free consultation.
Click to contact our Bradenton Criminal Defense Lawyers today
Should I Get a DUI Lawyer for My Second or Third DUI in Bradenton, FL?
As mentioned, to avoid the serious consequences associated with multiple DUI charges, such as loss of driving privileges and jail time, you are going to need a qualified DUI attorney in your corner. Crimes of this nature cannot be handled alone. If the evidence is stacked up against you, your DUI attorney can work with the state prosecutor to negotiate a plea bargain on your behalf and save you from a felony DUI conviction. If you have us on board from the very start, we can gather our own evidence and stop you from saying the wrong thing and implicating yourself without realizing it.
A felony conviction will stay with you for life and prevent you from engaging in basic privileges such as owning a firearm, voting, and accessing certain areas of work. It is important that you fight these charges, and an experienced DUI attorney can help you do so. Call us now for your free consultation.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
What Defenses Are Available to Me Following a Florida DUI Arrest
If you have been accused of a DUI offense in Bradenton, FL., your DUI lawyer will tailor your defense strategy to your individual situation, but some examples of common defenses used in Florida DUI cases include:
- Improper stop – Your DUI defense attorney can claim that the law enforcement officer who made the traffic stop had no probable cause. This is one of the most commonly used arguments used by the defense in Florida DUI cases.
- A valid explanation for your appearance and behavior – For some of the evidence provided by the officer that made observations on your supposed impairment, you might be able to give a rational explanation. For example, physical disabilities and fatigue can result in poor field sobriety test performance. Furthermore, bloodshot eyes can be the result of allergies and other irritants.
- Necessity – Maybe you had to drive to prevent a greater danger. The defendant may be able to establish that he or she had no other option, and the danger that they chose to avoid was more serious than the potential harm of driving whilst intoxicated.
Whatever the case, a Bradenton DUI lawyer from The Law Place has the legal know-how to build a solid defense and avoid a DUI conviction. Call for a free consultation to find out more.
Why Choose The Law Place to Take on Your Bradenton DUI Case
Our client reviews, awards, length of practice, and trial skills speak for themselves. In fact, many of the attorneys at our law firm are AVVO 10.00 rated, and our team has over 75 years of combined experience. Our DUI attorneys work on all criminal cases together, so you will have many eyes on your case, and no stone will be left unturned. Call today to find out more.
Call Us Today for a Free Consultation
If you have been accused of a DUI in Bradenton, FL., for a second or third time, you will be set to face some serious criminal charges. It is in your best interest to fight these charges to protect your job, your driving privileges, and your freedom.
An experienced DUI lawyer from The Law Place is ready to take on your case. With our legal knowledge and experience, we can give you the best chance of a positive outcome.
Call us today for a free consultation at (941) 444-4444. We are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, and our practice areas cover Bradenton, FL., and the rest of Florida.
Call or text 941-444-4444 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form