In Bradenton, as well as across the entire State of Florida, it is required by law that you possess a valid driver’s license when making trips on roads or highways. If you are being convicted of driving without a valid driver’s license, it can lead to severe punishments and penalties that have life-altering consequences. Punishments include monetary fines, jail sentences, and in some cases, can even result in a suspended or revoked driver’s license.
If you or a loved one are being convicted of driving without a valid driver’s license, it is crucial that you seek legal assistance as soon as possible. Motor vehicle laws in Florida are often complex. Therefore, it would be more beneficial to try and tackle this situation with the help of an experienced attorney instead of attempting to handle it alone. With our help, you could reduce the possibility of having this charge remaining on your criminal record. At The Law Place, we have a team full of experienced attorneys, with one of their many practice areas being in Florida traffic laws. Upon calling, we offer each client a non-obligatory, free consultation. The information you share will be protected by the attorney-client relationship and will not go further if you do not wish it to.
Our Bradenton telephone lines are open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year – meaning you can contact us no matter what time of the day it is. Call today on (941) 444-4444 to begin the legal process and speak with a ready and waiting criminal defense attorney.
What Does Driving Without a Valid Driver’s License Entail?
In Florida Statute 322.03, you can find information regarding the different punishments and penalties surrounding driving laws in the State of Florida, including Bradenton. As mentioned previously, it is a legal requirement in Florida that all drivers must have a valid license when on the road. If you have a canceled, revoked, or suspended driver’s license, it is illegal for you to be driving on the road.
Florida Statute 322.01 highlights that legally, the act of driving can be defined as when a person is operating a motor vehicle and maintaining physical control of it. A motor vehicle comes under different definitions but generally can be defined as any type of self-propelled vehicle. This includes road vehicles such as cars and vans but excludes motorbikes or wheelchairs.
Penalties for Driving Without a Valid License in Bradenton
Across the State of Florida, if you are convicted of driving without a valid driver’s license, you will face a second-degree misdemeanor charge. The consequences of a second-degree misdemeanor are 60 days in jail as well as a fine of up to $500. Although it cannot be confirmed for definite, if you are a first-time offender, in some cases, you may not need to serve a jail sentence. This is heavily dependent on your specific circumstance and is not something that can be guaranteed.
If you are caught driving without a valid driver’s license for the second time in Bradenton, you can expect to receive harsher penalties as a result. For a second time offender, it is likely that you will receive a monetary fine of $500 as well as a maximum jail sentence of one year. In some cases, it is also likely that your motor vehicle will be seized.
The sooner you seek legal support from a criminal defense lawyer, the better for your case it will be. Your attorney can analyze your case, deciding what the best legal options are for you. With your help, they can build a solid defense case for you, which could get your penalties reduced or dismissed entirely. Do not hesitate to get in contact with us to begin this process.
What Are the Defenses for Driving Without a Valid License?
Here at The Law Place, our criminal defense lawyers have a plethora of experience in dealing with cases like yours. There are several lines of defense that your criminal defense attorney can use on your behalf in a courtroom setting. Listed below are some common defense strategies:
- The convicted driver was not driving their motor vehicle on a road open to the public or in a highway setting.
- The driver in question does, in fact, have a valid driver’s license but did not have it on their person when they were stopped by law enforcement.
- The license that the driver in question had on their person was an out-of-state or foreign license, but still valid.
- The driver in question was stopped unlawfully or confined by law enforcement officers following their traffic stop.
- There is insufficient evidence from the prosecution to prove that the driver in question was driving without a valid license.
As mentioned previously, the sooner you get in contact with a legal professional, the better. Schedule a free consultation with a member of our team today and receive the support you need during this time.
Are There Exceptions for Driving Without a Valid License in Bradenton?
In Bradenton, you can find some exceptions within the law if you are caught driving without a valid driver’s license. Listed below are some example of these exemptions:
- Motor vehicles that are used for farmland purposes, such as tractors.
- When driving a vehicle like a buggy or a golf-cart.
- If the person pulled over is aged 18 or above and has on their person an in-date non-commercial driver’s license that is from their state or country.
- If the person that has been pulled over is aged 16 or above, is not a resident in the State of Florida, and has on their person an in-date commercial driver’s license from the state or country they live in. Furthermore, the motor vehicle they are operating must require a Class E driving license.
Contact The Law Place Bradenton Today!
If you or a loved one has been stopped for driving without a valid driver’s license in Bradenton, it is important to seek legal assistance as soon as possible. At The Law Place, we have a team of well-informed lawyers with 75 years of combined experience. We often deal with a variety of cases that are similar to yours, and we have a high success rate.
We understand how stressful of a time this may be, and as a reputable law firm, the attorney-client relationship is incredibly important to us. We strive to build a relationship built on honesty and trust. Our team can also boast that most of our attorneys are AVVO rated 10.0, the highest rating that can be achieved. Rest assured, should you choose The Law Place as your representation; your case will be in safe hands.
We are available at any time you may need us, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Please do not hesitate to get in contact with us. Our team will be waiting for your call and to offer you your free consultation. Call us today on (941) 444-4444 !