If you or a loved one have been involved in a car accident that wasn’t your fault, you may have been left suffering from injuries and other types of losses. If this is the case for you, then we want to help you.
In the State of Florida, there are various ways that car accident victims can claim money to cover any expenses that they’ve incurred due to the accident. These expenses can include medical bills, lost wages, and more. Victims must first file a claim with their own insurance company before they can seek out compensation through any other avenues.
If you believe that you could be entitled to compensation from the at-fault party of your auto accident, then you should contact The Law Place today. Our team of car accident attorneys has over 75 years of combined experience in helping clients just like you secure the compensation and justice that they deserve, so you can trust that your personal injury case will be in safe hands. We offer a free consultation to anyone who believes they have a claim, where you will be able to speak one-on-one with a knowledgeable lawyer and receive valuable legal advice regarding your specific case.
So don’t hesitate! Contact The Law Place at (941) 444-4444 and schedule your free case evaluation today!
In This Article
- Do I Need to Report My Accident?
- Seek Medical Care
- Contact a Reputable Law Firm
- Filing an Insurance Claim With Your Insurance Company
- Filing an Insurance Claim With the At-Fault Driver’s Insurance Company
- Filing a Personal Injury Lawsuit in Florida
- What Is the Average Car Accident Settlement in Florida?
- How Long Do I Have to File a Car Accident Lawsuit in Florida?
- Contact The Law Place Today!
Do I Need to Report My Accident?
For minor car accidents, the drivers involved are expected to file a crash report within 10 days of the accident occurring. However, if the auto accident involving injury, death, or property damage worth over $500, anyone involved must call the police and report the accident.
Law enforcement will come to the scene and write up a police report. They will also collect evidence, but it’s important that you take some evidence yourself, but taking photographs of the scene, the damage, and any injuries you sustained, and recording the names and contact information of all eyewitnesses. This will help you and your legal team if you choose to seek compensation.
Seek Medical Care
It is important that you seek appropriate medical treatment as soon as possible. Not only will this ensure that you fully recover and get the care that you need, but it’s also crucial for any insurance claims or lawsuits you may want to file in the future. This is because medical records will serve as strong evidence supporting your claim.
If you wait to seek medical treatment, then the insurance companies may attempt to argue that there’s no connection between the auto accident and your injuries. This will make it much harder for you to receive the compensation that you deserve.
Contact a Reputable Law Firm
After being involved in a major car accident, it is highly recommended that you get in touch with a reputable law firm before filing any insurance claims. The Florida legal system and settlement process can be very complex and confusing, and the right auto accident attorney will be able to help you understand the process and will ensure you get the best outcome based on your case. They will conduct their own investigation of your case and gather strong evidence so that they can build a solid accident claim on your behalf.
Our team at The Law Place has plenty of experience in helping clients just like you, so contact our law firm today to speak to a skilled accident lawyer about your case.
Filing an Insurance Claim With Your Insurance Company
Florida has a no-fault insurance system, which means that car accident victims must first file a claim with their own insurance carriers, regardless of fault.
Current law requires all drivers to have the following policies at least:
It’s important that you file this claim very soon after the accident. You’ll be able to use the evidence and information that you gathered after the accident to support your claim. And don’t worry – just because you’ve filed a claim with your insurance carrier doesn’t mean that you can’t file a personal injury lawsuit for damages later on.
However, if you also suffered property damage in a car accident, then you may not have to go through your insurer first. Instead, you’ll be able to file a lawsuit or claim against the person who is responsible for causing the crash. You should make sure that the damage to your vehicle and/or other property is checked out as soon as possible, as delaying this assessment could hurt your claim.
For more information, get in touch with The Law Place today.
Filing an Insurance Claim With the At-Fault Driver’s Insurance Company
If your medical expenses and financial losses surpass $10,000, and your PIP and PDL coverage cannot cover the extent of them, then you should be able to file a claim with the at-fault party’s insurance carrier.
Once your car accident lawyer has thoroughly investigated your case and has determined who was responsible for causing the accident, they will be able to help you file a claim with the correct insurance provider.
Unfortunately, this can be challenging, as the insurer will do everything possible to reduce the amount that they have to pay you. This is one of the reasons why it’s so crucial that you have a proficient attorney on your side, as they will attempt to negotiate with the insurance company and ensure that you’re compensated appropriately and are not taken advantage of.
If we are successful in our negotiations, then you may be able to avoid going to court. However, it’s not uncommon for the at-fault party’s insurance policy to not cover the full extent of a victim’s damages. In these cases, your lawyer may still bring your case to court, even after securing the most money possible from the insurer.
This can all be very difficult to understand, so to speak to a knowledgeable personal injury attorney about your specific case, contact The Law Place today and schedule a free consultation.
Filing a Personal Injury Lawsuit in Florida
If a fair settlement cannot be agreed upon with the at-fault party’s insurance company, then your lawyer may think that the best step is to file a lawsuit against the insurance company. This process can be lengthy and could take up to several months to a year to complete, but as long as you have a skilled lawyer on your side, it should be relatively stress-free for you. During this time, your case will likely be opened up again for investigation.
Going to Court
In some cases, you may still have not have received the compensation you deserve after filing a personal injury claim and lawsuit. If this happens, your attorney may think the best option is to go to trial.
During your trial, your legal team will gather all relevant evidence and present your case to a judge and jury. They will represent you in court and outline your case, proving to the judge and jury that you were not to blame for the accident and deserve compensation to cover the losses and damages that you’ve suffered. The final verdict will be made by the judge, and the trial period may take a week to complete.
For a free legal consultation, call 941-444-4444
What Is the Average Car Accident Settlement in Florida?
The circumstances and damages caused by every accident are different, which means that every car accident settlement will be different. However, there are many factors that will always impact the amount of compensation that you receive. These factors are listed below:
- How severe your injuries are.
- How expensive your medical bills are.
- The amount of wages you lost and are expected to lose.
- The amount of other damages you sustained.
- The types of insurance coverage you and the at-fault party both have.
- Whether you were partially at fault for the accident.
- If you can provide strong evidence and documentation.
- The experience, skills, and resources of your attorney.
If you want a proficient attorney to look over your case and let you know how much compensation they think you deserve, if any, then contact The Law Place today and schedule a free consultation.
How Long Do I Have to File a Car Accident Lawsuit in Florida?
Under Florida Statute 95.11, victims of car accidents have only four years after the date of the accident to file a personal injury or property damage complaint. If you attempt to file a claim after this time, it will immediately be dismissed, regardless of how severe the injuries you sustained may be.
Because of this, it’s important not to delay! Contact The Law Place today to book a free consultation and begin your settlement process as soon as possible so that our lawyers have plenty of time to build a strong and solid case on your behalf.
Contact The Law Place Today!
If you’ve been injured in an auto accident that wasn’t your fault, and want to seek compensation, then you should contact an accident lawyer today. Florida’s car accident settlement process can be tricky to navigate, and so it will be hugely beneficial to you to have an experienced and skilled personal injury lawyer working on your behalf.
At The Law Place, our team of attorneys have the skill and resources needed to pursue compensation on your behalf and will fight tirelessly to ensure you get every cent that you deserve. We’re ready to help you win the justice that you deserve.
And don’t worry about legal fees! Our lawyers work on a contingency fee basis only, meaning that you won’t have to pay us anything unless your claim is successful – and even then, we’ll simply subtract our legal fees from the final settlement.
Our phone lines are open 24 hours a day, seven days a week, so don’t hesitate! Call us now at (941) 444-4444 and schedule your free case evaluation.