First and second DUI offenses are typically charged as a misdemeanor DUI in Florida. Penalties for a misdemeanor DUI can vary based on the result of your blood alcohol content (BAC) test. If your BAC was between .08 and .14, you could be fined up to $1,000, up to six months in jail, a maximum one-year license suspension, probation community service and attendance at a DUI school. If your BAC was at or above .14, these penalties will be enhanced.
A third or subsequent DUI charge within 10 years or a DUI that involves injury or death to another person will be charged as a felony in Florida. This most serious of DUI offenses is punishable by a 15-year prison sentence and a maximum $10,000 fine.
In This Article
- Getting the Help You Need Following Charges of Misdemeanor DUI or Felony DUI in Florida
Getting the Help You Need Following Charges of Misdemeanor DUI or Felony DUI in Florida
For a free legal consultation with a misdemeanor dui and a felony dui lawyer serving Sarasota, call 941-444-4444
A DUI in Florida can be extremely complex, and serious. The complexability depends on the specifics of your DUI and if it’s filed as a misdemeanor or felony. Your DUI attorneys at The Law Place will ensure all possible defenses are explored on your behalf. The Law Place’s DUI attorneys will conduct a thorough investigation into the circumstances of your DUI, and, if there are mitigating factors in your case, these will be brought to the court’s and prosecutor’s attention. Don’t let uncertainty derail your future—contact The Law Place today at 941-444-4444.