In Venice and elsewhere in the State of Florida, trespassing is considered to be a very serious crime, and a conviction often results in severe penalties. These penalties may include large fines, a length of time in jail or on probation, and a criminal record that could impact your future for decades to come. Therefore, it’s essential that if you have been accused or charged with trespassing in Venice, you seek the advice of a criminal defense attorney.
At The Law Place, our criminal defense lawyers have over 75 years of experience between them, and they are highly skilled in dealing with the Florida legal system and trespass cases just like yours. We pride ourselves on developing positive attorney-client relationships based on trust, so for supportive and professional legal advice, contact us today to schedule a free consultation with a Venice defense lawyer.
Our phone lines are open 24/7, so don’t hesitate! Call us now at (941) 444-4444.
What Is Trespassing?
Under Florida Statute 810.08, trespassing is described to be the following anyone who wilfully enters a structure or conveyance without permission. It is also a trespass offense to refuse to leave the premises when asked to by the owner or lessee.
Typically, a trespass charge is a second-degree misdemeanor, but there are many exceptions to this.
In Venice, there are two specific types of trespassing, which are described below.
Trespassing in a Structure or Conveyance in Venice, FL.
Under Florida law, a structure is defined as a building or enclosed space with a roof, and a conveyance is defined as any type of transportation, such as cars or boats. If a structure or conveyance is entered without the consent of the owner, or the occupier remains there after the owner has withdrawn their consent, then this is considered trespassing.
As this is commonly a second-degree misdemeanor, and you could face the following penalties if convicted:
- 60 days in jail.
- Six months on probation.
- A fine of $500.
Trespassing on Property Other Than a Structure or Conveyance in Venice, FL.
If you trespass on a property that is not considered to be a structure or conveyance, then you will likely be looking at a first-degree misdemeanor. Penalties for this sort of offense can include the following:
- One year in jail.
- One year on probation.
- A fine of $1,000.
It is also important to know that in some serious circumstances, the penalties you face could be even more severe. For example, if people were present at the scene of the trespass and you were armed, then the charge may increase. This would be the same if you were found trespassing on a site larger than an acre that had clear signage to say trespassers were not allowed. In both these scenarios, your charge could increase to a third-degree felony, and you would risk being sentenced to the following penalties:
- Five years in jail.
- Five years on probation.
- A fine of $5,000.
How Can a Criminal Record Impact Your Life?
As well as whatever sentence a judge may pass, a trespassing conviction will mean you have a permanent criminal record, which can have a devastating impact on your future. The consequences of a criminal record often include the following:
- Difficulty finding employment.
- Difficulty applying for or continuing education.
- Difficulty applying for financial help, such as loans and mortgages.
- Difficulty seeking certain licenses.
- Difficulty securing visitation rights or child custody.
We know that these consequences are incredibly harsh on top of the penalties you may be sentenced to, and you may be undeserving of this. The best chance you have at avoiding these severe consequences is by hiring a talented Venice attorney. The criminal defense lawyers at The Law Place have extensive knowledge of the Florida legal system and have successfully helped many clients like you facing similar charges. Our law firm offers a free consultation to anyone who has been accused of any crime, so contact us today!
Possible Defences for Trespassing
All trespassing cases are different, and this means that any defense your criminal defense lawyer uses must be tailored to the specific circumstances surrounding your case. However, some of the common defense strategies used by the lawyers at The Law Place include the following:
- The defendant believed they had consent to be on the property.
- There had been a lack of clear communication to leave the property.
- There is insufficient proof of intent.
- There the request to leave the property had been withdrawn.
- The signage was inadequate.
- There had been an implied invitation to enter/remain on the property.
We understand that you may have just made a simple mistake or meant no harm, and we don’t believe that you should be convicted and face such harsh penalties for this. The sooner you seek legal help from The Law Place, the better, as we will be able to get straight to work on building a solid defense on your behalf. You can trust that we will fight tirelessly for the best result possible, whether that be an acquittal, reduced or dismissed charges, or the most lenient penalties possible, depending on your case. So contact us today and schedule a free case evaluation.
The Law Place Can Help You
If you or a loved one have been accused of trespassing in the State of Florida, then you should call us today. If you go to court without adequate legal representation, your chances of securing a positive outcome reduce drastically, so don’t wait. Contact us today.
The criminal defense lawyers at The Law Place are highly-qualified, experienced, and knowledgeable – everything you should look for in a defense attorney! Let us help you beat the charges brought against you. We will thoroughly investigate your case and gather any and all relevant evidence that can help strengthen your defense.
The Florida legal system can be extremely complex and difficult to navigate for anyone, especially on your own. But by working with The Law Place, you will be ensuring that a skilled criminal defense attorney is taking on your case, meaning you no longer have to stress. The sooner you call us, the more time we will have to spend working on your case. Call us today at (941) 444-4444.