A commercial driver with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.04 or above can be arrested for Driving Under The Influence (DUI). This limit is much lower than the alcohol limit, which exists for an ordinary driver of a personal vehicle at 0.08. Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FHSMV) will suspend a driver’s Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) for a minimum of one year if they are convicted with DUI. Although, this suspension could be as long as three years if it is found that the driver was transporting hazardous substances at the time of their arrest.
As well as losing their CDL, a driver will likely face additional penalties such as incarceration, fines, additional license suspensions, and much more. A commercial driver who is charged with DUI will lose their CDL, and this can have major consequences for them. They risk losing their employment, and because a DUI arrest will remain on a driver’s record for 75 years in Florida, a charge will likely hinder future employment opportunities driving commercial vehicles.
If you have been arrested with DUI as a commercial driver, contact The Law Place in Florida as soon as possible. Our law firm has experienced lawyers who may be able to help you get the charge dropped. If you have any further questions or queries, contact our law firm today for a free consultation. One of our lawyers will be able to answer any questions you may have and give you all the legal guidance you may be seeking. Our phone lines are open 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Don’t hesitate to call The Law Place in Florida today on (941) 444-4444.
Can I Get My CDL Back After Two DUI Charges?
If you have been convicted with Driving Under the Influence for a second time while operating a commercial vehicle, you will face a lifetime suspension of your CDL. Losing your CDL for life can have major implications for a commercial driver’s life. They will never be allowed to drive vehicles commercially again, forcing them to seek employment elsewhere.
It is critically important that if you have been arrested with DUI for a second time that you seek legal help immediately to avoid losing your CDL forever. There are ways that an experienced DUI lawyer can help you get the charge reduced or dropped.
We advise against self-representation in this situation. This is because the DUI laws in Florida are extremely complex. The risk of losing your license forever is so great that it is not worth the risk. For the best chance of keeping hold of your license, seek the legal representation of a skilled lawyer.
If you have any further questions or have been arrested with DUI for a second time, contact The Law Place in Florida today for a free consultation. One of our lawyers will be able to give you all the help and guidance you may be seeking.
For a free legal consultation, call 941-444-4444
What Happens If a Truck Driver Gets a DUI?
If a commercial driver of a truck gets arrested for driving under the influence (DUI), there are many possible penalties that the commercial motor vehicle driver could face. The penalties that a truck driver could face after being charged with DUI will depend on the circumstances of their arrest. When a truck driver gets arrested, some of the implications that they will likely encounter with their commercial driver’s license (CDL) include the following:
- Having their CDL disqualified for one year.
- Having their CDL disqualified for three years if it found that the truck driver was transporting hazardous substances at the time of the arrest.
Some of the other implications that commercial drivers of trucks will face if they are arrested for DUI include:
- A fine worth up to $1,000.
- Six months of jail time.
- A permanent criminal record.
- Community service.
- A requirement to complete an alcohol and treatment evaluation program.
Not only this, but receiving a DUI whilst driving a commercial vehicle can have a major impact on the livelihood of the truck driver. At The Law Place, we strongly advise you to avoid receiving a DUI if you are a truck driver and drive a commercial vehicle. You will lose much more than just your CDL. Commercial drivers who are convicted with DUI will struggle to find future work as a truck driver and potentially go long periods before they can earn a living driving again.
There are major implications for truck drivers who are convicted of DUI. If you have any further questions or have been arrested with DUI, contact The Law Place today. One of our experienced lawyers will be able to answer any questions you may have in a free consultation.
What Can Cause You to Lose Your CDL?
You can lose your CDL in Florida for the following reasons:
- If you violate Florida Statute 316.193 and have an alcohol level of 0.08 or higher whilst driving a non-commercial or personal vehicle.
- If you own a CDL and are found driving some form of a commercial vehicle with a blood or breath alcohol level of or above 0.04.
If you are a commercial driver, possessing a CDL is crucial for your livelihood. It can be so easy to get your CDL taken away from you, and you can risk losing it for a long period. Usually, they are disqualified from driving for one year.
The Law Place
If you are a commercial driver and are at risk of losing your CDL, contact The Law Place in Florida today. Our skilled lawyers will be able to use their legal experience to evaluate your case for any possible options you have to avoid losing your license. Don’t hesitate to contact us if you have any further questions or queries for a free consultation. Call us today at (941) 444-44444.