In a state as large as Florida, driving motor vehicles is essential to the lives of a high percentage of the population. Because of this, it is good to know how traffic laws and driving privileges work. Too many violation points on your Florida driving record can mean an automatic suspension period, but how long do points remain on your driver record – and what can you do to avoid points?
Here at The Law Place, our team of Florida traffic attorneys has 75 years of experience dealing with traffic laws in the State of Florida. Whether you need specific legal advice or need help challenging an unfair traffic violation that would put too many points on your Florida license, we are here to help you. To protect your driving privilege, all you need to do is call our office today for a free consultation at no obligation. Everything will be fully confidential, and our lines are always open.
Speak to a traffic attorney well-versed in Florida law today by calling (941) 444-4444!
How Long Do Points Stay on Your Record in the Florida Driver’s License Point System?
In the Florida traffic point system, you will receive a set number of points for each traffic violation you commit. Once you hit a certain amount of these points, you will receive a license suspension that scales with how many points you have accumulated.
It is much easier to gain points than to remove points, as your violation points will last a period of 3 years (or 36 months) before they are automatically removed. This countdown begins on the day on which the driver pays the cost of the fine.
Furthermore, if you are issued a suspension, the points are not removed for serving it and will continue to last until the 3 year period is reached.
This is why it is important to speak to a lawyer if you are issued multiple tickets in Florida, as you will want to stand the best chance at retaining your driving privileges.
Is It Possible to Avoid Points for a Traffic Ticket in Florida?
It is possible to avoid receiving the points for tickets in Florida, but you will need the help of an experienced attorney to fight your traffic violations in court.
If you are still adjudicated guilty, the points from your traffic ticket will begin their duration of the day that all of the court’s requirements have been satisfied.
However, if you want the best chances at beating your traffic ticket, all you need to do is get in touch with one of our experienced traffic attorneys today. We will explain exactly how we will handle your situation in a free and no-obligation consultation.
How Does the Number of Points Affect How Long Your Florida License Will Be Suspended For?
There are different time lengths for the different point suspensions. The more points you have, the longer your period of suspension will last.
The specifics are as follows:
- If you have accumulated 12 points within a period of 12 months, you will receive a 30-day suspension.
- If you have accumulated 18 points within a period of 18 months, you will receive a 90-day suspension.
- If you have accumulated 24 points within a period of 36 months, you will receive a 1-year suspension.
Remember, these points stay on your driving license even after the suspension has been served. This catches many people out, as they continue accumulating points without realizing these subsequent points are being added to their previous total.
Are There Additional Financial Consequences for Traffic Points Accrued in Florida?
Yes, as well as fines, suspensions, and the possibility of needing to attend a driver improvement course, there are other financial consequences involved in the points process.
These are that your car insurance rates will increase. As points last for 3 years, this means that your auto insurance rates will also be increased for this period of time, which is no small sum.
If you want to avoid auto insurance price increases, the best way to go about this is to contact an experienced attorney today to fight your ticket in court.
How Many Points Will a Specific Traffic Infraction Put on My Florida Driving Record?
You will be issued a different number of points depending on the type of ticket in Florida.
Florida drivers can expect the following amount of points for each of the following violation types:
- 3 points – If you are caught by law enforcement violating Florida littering laws.
- 3 points – Speeding tickets issued for driving less than 15 miles per hour over the posted limit.
- 3 points – Receiving a Florida traffic ticket for violating child restraint laws, which mandate federally approved child restraint seats and devices.
- 3 points – Receiving a Florida traffic ticket for most moving violation offenses, including parking your motor vehicle on the highway outside of municipality limits.
- 3 points – Receiving a ticket for failure to stop at a traffic control device, whether it is a sign, crossing, or light.
- 4 points – Traffic tickets for some of the more severe moving violations.
- 4 points – Traffic tickets for driving past a stopped school bus.
- 4 points – Receiving a speeding ticket for driving more the 15 miles per hour over the posted legal speed limit.
- 4 points – Receiving a Florida traffic ticket for a criminal traffic violation, such as willful and wanton reckless driving.
- 6 points – Receiving a traffic ticket when your unlawful speeding caused an accident.
- 6 points – If you are caught after leaving the scene of an accident which resulted in $50 or more worth of damage to motor vehicles or other property.
It is important to remember that a single stop in Florida can result in multiple traffic violations, and therefore a lot of potential points on your driving record in one go. For example, it is possible to receive a speeding ticket and multiple moving violations in one stop.
For this reason, it is possible to quickly lose your driving privileges and have your license suspended if you are not careful. If you have found yourself in this position, call our office today to stand the best chance at getting your ticket dismissed.
How Do Points on the License of a Driver Aged Between 15 and 17 Work?
Points will work differently when accumulated on the license of somebody aged between 15 and 17 years old.
In this case, the maximum amount of points before consequences will be 5 points. Once 6 points have been accumulated, the young person will be restricted to a license for business purposes only for a minimum of 12 months or until they reach the age of 18.
It does not stop there. For each additional point accumulated over the 6 point threshold, this restriction time will be increased by 90 days.
Is It Possible That My Driver’s License Will Be Impacted By Out-of-State Tickets?
Florida has a reciprocal agreement with most of the other states in America, which means that, in most cases, points for traffic violations that occur outside of the state will still make it to your driving record in Florida.
Similarly, it is possible to have your driver’s license suspended in Florida if you have received a traffic ticket in a different state or failed to complete a court-ordered driver improvement course that was issued in a different state.
What Happens If You Opt to Attend Traffic School for a Driver Improvement Course After Receiving a Ticket?
It is possible that you will be given the option to attend a basic driver improvement course at a Florida traffic school after committing a highway safety violation.
You may be able to take a 4-hour class electively at a driving school, which could mean avoiding points and receiving an 18% discount on your fine. This is great for those wishing to avoid increased fees from their car insurance company.
Once you have completed the course at your driving school, you can present your completion certificate to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. They will then be able to remove your points.
If you choose to simply take the fine without attending traffic school, it is likely that you will receive the points and a summons to attend traffic school. If you fail to comply with the order to attend traffic school, it is likely that your license will be suspended.
Additionally, Florida Statute 332.0261 will require any driver who runs a red light, passes a school bus that has stopped, races on a stretch of highway, or commits a reckless driving or driving under the influence (DUI) crime to attend a driver improvement class. For criminal charges, there will also be additional fines as laid out in Florida Statute 775.083.
In Which Situations Will Somebody Be Ineligible to Take a Driving Improvement Course in Florida?
Driver’s courses are an excellent way to avoid accumulating unnecessary points on your driver’s license in Florida. However, there are some situations where you will be unable to avoid license points in this way.
For example, you are only able to attend one course at a Florida driving improvement school every 12 month period. You are also able to attend no more than 5 classes over a period of ten years.
Furthermore, if you are the holder of a commercial driver’s license or have committed an infraction that is classed as criminal (for example, leaving the scene of an accident, reckless driving, or driving whilst intoxicated by alcohol or drugs), then you will be ineligible for mitigating your points through a driver’s course.
In these situations, your only course of action will be to secure an attorney to fight your traffic violation ticket in court. To find out more about how we can help you stand the best chance of success in this situation, call our Florida office using the contact number at the top or bottom of this page to arrange a free consultation and case evaluation today.
Is Paying a Fine for a Florida Traffic Violation Considered an Admission of Guilt?
If you are hoping to avoid the consequences of a traffic ticket in Florida, whether that is to avoid receiving points or to avoid increasing car insurance premiums, the absolute worst thing you can do is simply to pay your fine.
This is because paying the cost of your traffic ticket citation is considered legally to be an admission of your guilt. Once you have paid the ticket, there is no way to rescind this guilt, and you will receive the points and their accompanying penalties.
This is why it is important to contest the ticket once you have received it, as with the help of a lawyer from the right law firm, you stand a good chance at avoiding the consequences and not having to use one of your driving school opportunities unnecessarily.
FAQ – How Long Does It Take for Points to Come Off Your Driving Record in Florida?
How long do points stay on your license in Florida?
In Florida, points typically stay on your driving record for a period of three years (36 months). This duration is calculated from the date of the violation, not from the date of the conviction. It’s important to note that while points may no longer impact your driving privileges after this period, the record of the violation itself can remain on your driving history for much longer, sometimes up to 5-10 years, depending on the nature of the offense.
How to remove points from your license in Florida?
Removing points from your Florida driver’s license before they naturally expire after three years is not straightforward. However, Florida does offer options to mitigate the impact of these points. One common method is to attend a state-approved driver improvement course. Eligible drivers can take such a course to avoid points from a recent traffic ticket being added to their record. Remember, this option is only available for certain violations and can be used a limited number of times. Additionally, the course must be taken voluntarily before points are assessed for it to be effective in preventing points from being added to your record.
How long does it take for points to fall off your license?
Points from traffic violations fall off your Florida driving record automatically after three years. During this period, it’s essential to avoid accumulating additional points, as this can lead to increased insurance premiums and, in severe cases, the suspension of your driver’s license. The timeline for points to fall off is strictly adhered to, and there’s no expedited process for their removal. The best course of action is to practice safe driving habits to prevent the accumulation of more points.
- Impact on Insurance: Although points may fall off after three years, insurance companies may have different policies regarding how long they consider these points in determining your insurance rates.
- Point Accumulation: Accumulating a certain number of points within a specific timeframe can lead to the suspension of your driver’s license. For instance, accruing 12 points within 12 months can result in a 30-day suspension.
- Severity of Violations: Not all traffic violations carry the same number of points. More severe offenses, like reckless driving, accrue more points than minor infractions like speeding.
- Record Keeping: It’s a good practice to regularly check your driving record to ensure accuracy, especially after the expiration of the three-year period for points.
- Preventative Measures: To avoid point accumulation, always adhere to traffic laws, consider defensive driving courses, and stay informed about the rules of the road in Florida.
Contact The Law Place Today
If you are caught violating the law of the road, either inside of Florida or in another state, you are looking at accumulating violation points on your driver’s license. The consequences of this include license suspension, hefty fines, and paying an increased amount on your car insurance premium costs for a period of three years.
Luckily, the team of traffic attorneys here at The Law Place in Florida have accumulated over 75 years of experience between them, helping to defend people just like you from their alleged traffic violations. To find out more about how our firm can help you, simply call us today and arrange a free case evaluation and consultation. We will talk through the specifics of your case at no obligation, in a completely confidential environment, and inform you of the smartest legal step to take next. We ensure all of our Florida offices have their phone lines manned 24/7 so that you can call at a time that is convenient to you.
For more information on how we can help you avoid the worst consequences of receiving points on your license, call us today on (941) 444-4444 and speak to an experienced Florida traffic law attorney!