If you wish to drive on public roads in the State of Florida, you are legally required to possess a valid driver’s license. If you have committed a Florida traffic violation by driving without a valid license, you will likely face some tough penalties. It is in your best interest to seek the legal advice and knowledge of a reputable criminal defense attorney in Florida.
At The Law Place, our lawyers have over 75 years of combined experience. We have helped countless clients escape the very worst penalties after they have been caught driving without a valid driver’s license. If you have been arrested, you should get in contact with us today. Many people in the State of Florida don’t realize just how harsh the penalties can be for this kind of traffic violation.
If you call our law firm today, you will be able to schedule a free consultation with one of our criminal defense lawyers. We have practice areas all over Florida, so if you have been arrested in Port Charlotte, we can help you. An attorney-client relationship is one of great commitment and loyalty. Give our office a call now at (941) 444-4444. Phone lines are open 24/7.
In This Article
- What Does It Mean to Drive Without a Valid Driver’s License in Port Charlotte?
- What Happens if You Get Caught Driving Without a License in Florida?
- Can You Go to Jail for Driving Without a License in Port Charlotte?
- Does Florida Have a Grace Period for Expired Driver Licenses?
- How Do You Get Around With a Suspended License?
- Defenses That a Criminal Defense Attorney Can Use for Those Caught Driving With No Valid Driver’s License
- Contact The Law Place Today!
What Does It Mean to Drive Without a Valid Driver’s License in Port Charlotte?
Florida Statute 322.03 outlines the law concerning Florida driving licenses and what penalties offenders can face for committing traffic violations. The law firmly states that all drivers must possess a valid driver’s license if they plan on driving their vehicle on public roads in Florida. This means that if you have a suspended or revoked license, a canceled license, or an expired Florida driver’s license, you should not be operating motor vehicles on public roads.
Florida Statute 322.01 defines what is meant by a “driver’s license” in Florida. A driver’s license is essentially a certificate that gives a person the right to operate their vehicle on the roads in Florida. If you have been caught without a valid driver’s license in Port Charlotte, our criminal defense lawyers at our law firm can help you.
For a free legal consultation with a driving without a valid driver’s license lawyer serving Port Charlotte, call 941-444-4444
What Happens if You Get Caught Driving Without a License in Florida?
Driving without a valid driver’s license in Port Charlotte is a crime. This traffic offense is typically classified as a misdemeanor. This means that if you are caught by a police officer for driving without a valid license in the State of Florida, you could face the following penalties if your conviction is successful:
- A fine worth up to $500.
- A maximum of 60 days in jail.
If you are not a habitual traffic offender, you may be able to resolve your citation with the help of a criminal defense attorney. This is because if you are able to obtain a valid license and pay the $25 court assessment fee, you may be able to escape the very worst penalties. However, you must not have committed the same offense within the previous 12 months
Port Charlotte Driving Without a Valid Driver’s License Lawyer Near Me 941-444-4444
Can You Go to Jail for Driving Without a License in Port Charlotte?
If you are found driving without a valid driver’s license or with a suspended license in Florida, you could go to jail following your arrest. The law in Florida is incredibly strict when it comes to traffic violations. The jail sentence that you will likely face for your misdemeanor will depend on how many previous times you have committed the same offense. For example:
- For your first conviction, you can expect to serve a maximum sentence of 60 days.
- For your second conviction, you can expect to serve a maximum of one year.
- For your third or subsequent conviction, you can expect to serve a maximum of five years.
We understand that everyone makes mistakes, and the prospect of going to jail can be very worrying for most people. Our law firm would like to reassure you that if this is your first offense and you have no prior convictions on your record, it is unlikely that you’ll have to serve time. Please contact one of our criminal defense attorneys if you have any questions. In a free case evaluation, a criminal defense attorney will be able to give you all the answers and offer you some crucial legal advice based on their knowledge of Florida’s traffic laws.
Does Florida Have a Grace Period for Expired Driver Licenses?
Driving without a valid driver’s license is hugely frowned upon in Port Charlotte. Nevertheless, drivers are allowed six months following the expiration of their driver’s license to carry on driving on Florida’s roads. Once these months have passed and you are caught, you can be arrested by law enforcement.
If you are caught driving without a valid license within six months of your license expiring, you can expect to be charged with a $30 fine.
Although drivers have this grace period, our attorneys strongly recommend that you update your license as soon as it expires – no matter where you are driving.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
How Do You Get Around With a Suspended License?
Once your license has been suspended, you will have to wait a fixed period of time before you are legally allowed to drive again. However, there is a way around this if you can get your license reinstated in a hearing.
You can regain all of your driving privileges by completing a 12-hour Advanced Driver Improvement (ADI) course in Florida. You may be relieved to hear that despite your suspension, you can start driving within restricted places before you finish this course if you have a hardship license.
A hardship license is essentially a license that is handed to a driver once their license has been suspended or revoked. This license allows for driving for necessity only. It is very limited. Drivers can only travel to places where it is necessary they attend, such as work and school. If you wish to regain your driving privileges, you should contact a criminal defense lawyer at The Law Place. Phone our law firm office today to schedule your free consultation.
Defenses That a Criminal Defense Attorney Can Use for Those Caught Driving With No Valid Driver’s License
Our criminal defense attorneys have helped to defend countless clients who have been caught operating a vehicle without a valid license. Some of the most common defenses that our attorneys will use on cases similar to yours are as follows:
- The accused was not lawfully stopped and therefore unlawfully detained by law enforcement at the scene.
- When stopped by law enforcement, the accused was not driving on a public highway.
- The accused did possess a license; they just did not have it on them at the time they were stopped by police.
- The State of Florida does not have enough evidence to prove that you were driving without a valid license.
Contact The Law Place Today!
If you have been arrested for committing a traffic offense in Florida because you have been caught driving without a valid license or a suspended license, you should speak to a reputable criminal defense lawyer. A criminal defense lawyer will be able to offer you some crucial legal advice to help you escape the very worst consequences.
We understand that everyone makes mistakes, and you should not have to suffer because of one. No matter your offense, whether you have been caught driving under the influence (DUI) or without a license, we promise that we will do all that we can to help you. An attorney-client relationship at our firm is one of immense commitment and loyalty.
Phone our office today to schedule a free consultation with a reputable criminal defense attorney. We are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, to listen to your call. Call us now at (941) 444-4444.