In Clearwater, as in the State of Florida, it is a legal requirement to possess a valid driver’s license when driving on the roads and highways. If you are stopped and apprehended for driving without a valid driver’s license, then you may incur serious punishments and penalties that can have life-changing consequences. Punishments can include fines, jail time, and may even result in a suspended or revoked driver’s license.
If you have been caught driving without a valid driver’s license, then it is highly recommended that you seek legal advice as soon as possible. At The Law Place, we have a highly skilled team of attorneys with over 75 years of combined experience in defending the accused and dealing with cases similar to yours. All our criminal defense attorneys offer a free consultation to all our customers, where they can receive comprehensive legal advice and support at no-obligation.
Our Clearwater phone lines are open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, so you can call us at any time of day, and rest assured, a criminal defense attorney will be able to help advise on the next best steps to take. Call our law firm today at (941) 444-4444 and receive a free case evaluation.
In This Article
- What Does It Mean to Drive Without a Valid Driver’s License?
- Potential Penalties for Driving Without a License in Clearwater
- Potential Defenses for Driving Without a Valid License
- Exemptions for Driving Without a Valid License
- Contact The Law Place Today!
What Does It Mean to Drive Without a Valid Driver’s License?
Florida Statute 322.03 outlines the law regarding driving licenses and what penalties or punishments can be incurred when caught committing traffic violations. In Florida, the law requires all drivers to have a valid license when on the roads. Therefore, if you have a suspended, canceled, or revoked license, you should not be driving on the roads in Florida.
Florida Statute 322.01 explains that the law defines the act of driving to be when a person is operating a motor vehicle or in actual physical control of it. Additionally, a motor vehicle can be defined as any self-propelled vehicle and includes all common types of road vehicles but excludes motorized bicycles and wheelchairs.
For a free legal consultation with a driving without a valid driver’s license lawyer serving Clearwater, call 941-444-4444
Potential Penalties for Driving Without a License in Clearwater
In the State of Florida, if you are caught driving without a valid driver’s license, then you will likely face a second-degree misdemeanor charge. If convicted, a second-degree misdemeanor charge can result in up to 60 days in jail and a fine of up to $500. However, it is worthwhile noting that if you have no prior convictions, then it unlikely that you will serve jail time, but not certain.
If you are caught driving without a valid driver’s license in Clearwater for a second or third time, then, unsurprisingly, you will face tougher penalties than your first offense. For a second conviction, you will likely receive a fine of up to $500 and a maximum jail sentence of one year. It is also possible that your vehicle will be impounded.
By seeking the advice of a criminal defense lawyer, they will be able to examine your case and determine the best legal options for you. They will also build a defense strategy that can stand up in court and have any punishments you may be facing reduced. Call our law firm today to schedule a free consultation.
Clearwater Driving Without a Valid Driver’s License Lawyer Near Me 941-444-4444
Potential Defenses for Driving Without a Valid License
At The Law Place, our criminal defense lawyers are experienced in helping our clients escape the worst penalties. A defense attorney will investigate your case and work to build a strong defense strategy that can be used in court. Some of the most common defenses include:
- The driver was not driving their vehicle on a highway or road that was open to the public.
- The driver had a valid Florida license. However, they simply did not have it with them at the time of the stop.
- The driver had a license. However, it was an out-of-state or foreign license.
- The driver was unlawfully stopped or detained by police officers following their traffic stop.
- The prosecution lacks a sufficient amount of evidence to prove that the driver was driving with no license.
The sooner you seek advice from a skilled attorney, the greater the chance you have of getting your charges reduced or dropped entirely. Contact our law firm today; our attorneys will be happy to offer honest legal advice and support at no-obligation.
Exemptions for Driving Without a Valid License
There are some exceptions that allow you to drive a motorized vehicle without a valid driver’s license in Florida. Such exemptions include:
- Driving vehicles that are used on farmland, such as tractors.
- Driving a golf cart or buggy.
- If a person is aged 18 or above and has in their possession an in-date non-commercial driver’s license from the state or country that they reside in.
- If a person is aged 16 or above and is not a resident of Florida but has in their possession an in-date non-commercial driver’s license from their state or country, and is operating a vehicle that requires a Class E driver’s license.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Contact The Law Place Today!
If you or someone you know has been stopped or apprehended for driving without a valid driver’s license in Clearwater, then you may wish to seek legal representation. Here at The Law Place, we have a team of knowledgeable lawyers with an abundance of experience in handling a variety of cases and achieving successful outcomes.
At our law firm, we understand how daunting and worrying facing criminal charges can be, which is why all our lawyers pride themselves on developing an honest attorney-client relationship built on trust. Most of our attorneys are AVVO rated 10.0, which is the highest possible rating, so you can rest assured that your case is in highly skilled and knowledgeable hands.
Our phone lines are open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, allowing us to be available when you need us the most. Don’t hesitate to pick up the phone and speak to one of our criminal defense lawyers today. Our lawyers are happy to offer support and legal advice on the next best steps to take, all at no obligation. Call us today on (941) 444-4444 and speak to a highly skilled criminal defense attorney.