What are the fines for marijuana possession in Florida?
Answer: The fines of marijuana. I’ll take misdemeanor first. First degree misdemeanor punishable by up to 11 months, 29 days in the county jail, and/or 12 months of probation. And some financial obligations: minimum fine of $500. And in most circumstances, depending on the facts, it usually will involve some sort of a drug evaluation and treatment with a random urinalysis. So depending on the county, or you know, the misdemeanor amount—especially in some of the rural counties—you can expect to be on probation even for a misdemeanor amount. Where they will supervise you, they will have you come in for a random urinalysis, and have you undergo a drug evaluation and treatment during the term of probation. If you’re talking a felony amount you will absolutely, through the department of corrections, be subjected to random urinalysis when you report to your probation officer once a month. And you can absolutely expect to have drug evaluation treatment, community service, something like that.If you were trafficking, meaning if the level or the amounts of drugs that you’re found with is a trafficking amount, or they catch you selling, you will be absolutely looking down the barrel of county jail and the possibility of Florida state prison, depending on the amount. Some jurisdictions and some judges have minimum mandatories. If you’re selling any sort of marijuana, in certain jurisdictions, they’re going to want county jail time at the minimum. Obviously, your criminal history is extremely important, and the facts of the case, and your level of cooperation. Sometimes they’ll get you to become a snitch, as we call it, and they’ll say, “We’ll help you if you help us and tell us who you’re buying the marijuana from.” In that situation, you have to really think twice whether or not you want to be a snitch because that’s a risky thing if they bring you in to do some drug sells.