A truck accident – no matter how severe – can be a very stressful experience, especially if you have experienced mental or physical distress as a result. This stress can worsen even more so if the parties involved and/or their insurance company have a dispute over liability. In most cases, victims will assume that their insurance company will handle everything, but in more complex cases, it is best to have a skilled personal injury attorney on hand to protect your legal rights. Here at The Law Place, our lawyers possess 75 years of combined experience, and many are AVVO 10.0 rated. We will be able to support you both legally and emotionally, so you can focus your energy on recovery.
The information on this website outlines some frequently asked questions surrounding trucking accidents, including some advice surrounding what can be done to protect your rights. If you require some more information in the form of a free case evaluation, contact us as soon as possible at (941) 444-4444, phone lines are open 24/7 for your convenience.
What Is the First Thing You Should Do After an Accident With Another Vehicle?
One of the best things to do to protect your rights after a car accident is to make sure you take every logical step following the immediate fallout. The Law Place suggests the following points:
Move to a Safer Area Nearby
Many drivers will already be aware that they must remain at the scene of the accident until the emergency services arrive. However, it may not be safe to stand at the side of a highway or busy road. If you are able to, then you should move to a safe spot near the accident scene and inform the emergency services of your location.
Check for Injuries
As per Florida Statute 316.062, all drivers involved in an accident possess a legal responsibility to check on any other parties and administer necessary medical attention if possible. If they require urgent, professional medical attention, then 911 should be called immediately.
Florida Statute 316.062 also clearly stipulates that you are legally required to call the police so that they can be made aware of the incident and its location. A police report must be filed within 10 days following a car accident. This report will include what happened and will aid in determining who is at fault for your car accident as the officers are trained in providing an unbiased account of events. Insurance companies will most likely use this report to help make their judgment about your case.
Gather Necessary Information
If you are able to, then you should think about gathering the following information as it could help with your legal case later on:
- The name and contact information of any other drivers and witnesses at the accident scene.
- The insurance company and policy information of any other drivers.
- The badge number and the name of any police officers who attended the scene.
- License plate information, make, and model details for any other vehicles involved.
- Take pictures of the accident scene, any damage to your vehicle, and any vehicles involved.
- Any useful notes regarding your surroundings, such as the existence of any security cameras that could have recorded the accident.
Our injury lawyers will be able to use all of this information to aid in building your claim and making sense of who the responsible party was. Keeping on top of and documenting these details will prevent anything from being forgotten. Contact our law firm today to organize a free consultation with a lawyer on our team.
Contact Your Insurance Company
Your insurance company will be able to provide a professional estimate of the damages to your vehicle, so it is vital you contact them as soon as possible. This will be the first step to ensure you are fairly compensated for your damages and that your rights are protected after a truck accident. As per Florida Statute 627.736, you will only be able to receive coverage benefits from your insurance provider if you have received medical care within 14 days of your truck accident.
For a free legal consultation, call 941-444-4444
How Long Should You Rest After a Truck Accident?
Car accidents can be both physically and mentally damaging for accident victims, so it is important you put your health first following a collision and focus on rest and recovery. In general, the more serious your injuries are, the longer you will have to rest. Six weeks is the estimated average recovery time following a truck accident, but some victims may feel back to normal earlier than this, whilst others may go through pain and suffering for much longer. It is best not to put a universal time stamp on how long you should rest; it is a unique experience, and only you can know when you feel mentally and physically fit enough to return back to everyday life.
How Can You Protect Yourself From Serious Injury Should an Accident Occur?
A truck accident is totally unpredictable and has the potential to be extremely dangerous. Whilst most accidents are unavoidable; there are a few ways you can make sure you have done everything in your power to avoid a serious injury. Here are some recommendations:
- Obey all traffic laws – Although this may seem obvious, it is important to keep in mind that traffic laws are in place for a reason. They are laws created to protect the safety of drivers and pedestrians. Therefore, you should always obey speed limits and traffic signals.
- Ensure your car is kept in sufficient working order – You should be sticking to the manufacturer’s recommended maintenance schedule and getting any issues fixed as soon as possible to help reduce the likelihood of an accident. Regular oil level, tire pressure, and windshield wiper checks can all also help.
- Always pay attention to your surroundings – Do not let your cell phone, other passengers, or having a quick snack put your life at risk. You should aim to eliminate all distractions and always make sure you are aware of what is going on.
Click to contact our personal injury lawyers today
What Damages Can I Claim for After a Truck Accident in Florida?
A truck accident can cause the following damages:
- Pain and suffering – Includes any mental or physical suffering, as well as a loss of enjoyment in life caused by the accident. This is hard to prove, so it is best to have a lawyer on hand.
- Medical bills – If you’ve received medical treatment because of your truck accident, these expenses can be claimed back. Remember to keep proof of costs.
- Property damage – Any repair or replacement costs for property damage can be covered in your settlement.
- Lost wages – For any time off or loss of earning potential, you will be able to claim for these lost wages.
- Wrongful death – Florida Statute 768.21 allows you to file a wrongful death lawsuit if you have sadly lost a loved one. This will cover any funeral expenses and loss of consortium.
Contact The Law Place to organize a free consultation if you believe you could be owed any of the previously mentioned damages following a collision.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
How Do I Protect My Rights After a Car Accident in Florida?
A truck accident can bring about a range of physical, monetary, and mental damages, so it is important you receive the compensation you deserve. The best tips to keep in mind so that you can protect your rights after a truck accident are as followed:
- Do NOT admit fault – You have the ‘right to remain silent,’ and it is best to keep this in mind. Never admit fault following an accident. Fault can only be legally determined within a court of law or if voluntarily assumed by an individual. At the same time, never make false or misleading statements to law enforcement as this could severely damage your case.
- Hire a skilled accident lawyer – You have the right to hire a legal representative who can help protect your rights. An accident lawyer can communicate with insurers, calculate damages, document evidence, and assert your legal rights.
- You aren’t obligated to accept the insurance company’s first offer – An insurance company may take weeks to send you an offer, and this may not cover your losses. If you believe your offer is not satisfactory, you can demand reasonable compensation instead of settling.
What Is the Deadline for Filing a Personal Injury Claim?
If you have been injured in a truck accident, then it is important you act quickly if you wish to make a claim. The State of Florida operates using a strict statute of limitations. Florida Statute 95.11 outlines that a personal injury case will have four years from the date of the accident to be submitted for a compensation claim. If your case involves wrongful death, then this is reduced to two years. If these time constraints elapse, then your case will not be considered, and you will not receive any compensation for your injuries.
Additionally, after an accident, it is in your best interest to seek medical expertise as soon as possible, even if you believe yourself to be fine. Florida Statute 627.736 allows insurance adjusters to use this against accident victims if they have not received medical treatment, or at least attention, within two weeks of their accident.
Because of these time constraints, it is best to have a skilled lawyer on your side who can help protect your rights after a truck accident and build a case quickly and effectively. Contact The Law Place today to organize a free consultation.
Call a Truck Accident Lawyer at The Law Place Today!
If you or a family member have been involved in a truck accident, then contact The Law Place today! Our team possesses 75 years of combined experience and will work tirelessly to protect your rights after a truck accident. We know how life-changing an accident like this can be and will be with you every step of the way in your fight for justice.
Contact us today by calling (941) 444-4444 to organize a free case evaluation with an accident lawyer at our law firm. Our phone lines are open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, so do not hesitate to get in contact at your earliest convenience.
Call or text 941-444-4444 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form