The cost of a driving under the influence (DUI) conviction will vary depending on the case. Costs following a DUI arrest can be expensive, and this is why it is important to understand all of the court costs and additional fees that are involved.
DUI charges are punished with harsh penalties, as the law in Florida is strict against driving under the influence to protect public safety. An intoxicated driver is more likely to cause a traffic accident than a sober driver. Accidents caused by DUI can result in serious injury, loss of life, property damage, and more. The legal blood alcohol concentration limit in Florida is .08. If a law enforcement officer finds out you’re above the limit, you can face a DUI conviction.
Our criminal defense attorneys at The Law Place have helped countless clients with their DUI convictions. With the right attorney, you may be able to get your case reduced or dropped. No matter if you’re facing your first DUI conviction or your fifth, you should seek legal guidance and representation.
DUI costs can be very expensive, and that is why it is important to contact The Law Place. To schedule a free consultation with a member of our team, call us at (941)-444-4444.
What Are the Costs of a DUI Arrest?
If a law enforcement officer in Florida has probable cause that you are driving while intoxicated, you will be stopped and can be arrested for a DUI. Being arrested is a long and overwhelming process. Not only can you be detained, but you will also have to pay the costs of the arrest. Some of the fees that you may have to pay if you are arrested for DUI in Florida include:
- Bond funds.
- Towing fees.
- Transportation fees.
- Vehicle impoundment fees.
Unfortunately, these costs are just the beginning. Once you’ve received a DUI conviction, you will have to face additional costs. Some of the costs you could face include court costs, DUI school costs, formal review hearing costs, hardship license costs, legal fees, and more! This is why it is expensive to be charged with a Florida DUI. These offenses should be taken seriously and you need to make sure you have the best representation.
For a free legal consultation, call 941-444-4444
How Much Are Court Fees in Florida for DUI?
Depending on the circumstances of your case, you may receive large DUI fines in court. You can expect an even steeper fine if aggravating factors are involved in your case. For example, if you were caught driving under the influence with a child passenger, your fine could be much larger.
Unfortunately, people who are not guilty still have to pay court fees. For people who are not guilty of their accused offense, it is worth hiring a good attorney to ensure that they are not wrongfully convicted. Although this doesn’t seem fair, it is not worth facing a harsh DUI conviction.
The cost of a DUI in Florida will depend on how many DUI convictions an offender already has. Additionally, if an offender driving under the influence causes manslaughter, serious bodily injury, or property damage, their fines will also increase. Below we have listed the potential court fines for a DUI conviction.
First Offense DUI
People convicted of a DUI for the first time can expect a minimum fine of $500. The maximum fine people can expect to face is $1,000. A judge will decide what a suitable fine is based on the circumstances of a case. However, a first DUI conviction will be more costly with aggravating factors. In these cases, a person can face a maximum fine of $2,000.
Second Offense DUI
The more DUI convictions a person receives, the greater the fine they will have to pay. For a second conviction, a person will likely be handed a fine between $1,000 and $2,000. This can increase up to $4,000 if aggravating factors are involved.
Third Offense DUI
For a third conviction, an offender can face a fine between $2,000 and $5,000. The amount a person is charged will depend on many factors, including the frequency of their last offense. For example, a third offense within a decade of a person’s first will likely be penalized harsher than a third offense committed fifty years after a person’s first.
What Are the Hidden Costs Of a Florida DUI Conviction?
It should come as no surprise that a Florida DUI conviction will result in an offender’s auto insurance rates rising. These additional fees are not where the costs stop. There are many hidden costs of a DUI that many people are unaware of. Some of the underlying costs of these convictions include:
- Possible medical treatment costs.
- Lost wages.
- Expungement or sealing costs.
- Public transportation costs due to loss of driving privileges.
- Possible car repairs.
- Increased life or health insurance premiums.
These other hidden costs can be a huge financial burden to an offender. The best advice we can offer is to avoid a conviction. If you hire a DUI attorney, you will greatly improve your chances of getting your case reduced or dropped.
Click to contact our personal injury lawyers today
Is a Florida DUI a Felony Conviction?
A first or second DUI in Florida will typically be charged as a misdemeanor. A third DUI charge within ten years of a person’s first or a DUI case that involves death or injury can be charged as a felony. The penalties attached to felony convictions are much harsher than those attached to misdemeanor convictions.
Regardless of whether you are facing a misdemeanor or felony conviction, our team of experienced lawyers can help you.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
What Defences Can a Criminal Defense Attorney Use?
Our team of lawyers at The Law Place has a vast amount of experience defending clients against their DUI charges. Some of the most common defenses we have used before include:
- Insufficient probable cause – A law enforcement officer must have a legitimate reason for stopping a vehicle. If your attorney can prove that you were not driving dangerously or doing anything wrong, but you still got stopped by law enforcement, your case may get dismissed. Without probable cause, regardless of whether you were over the limit or not, it could make your arrest void.
- Improper field sobriety test – When a law enforcement officer stops a suspected impaired driver, they will ask them to complete a field sobriety test. These tests are notorious for producing skewed and incorrect results. Our team of attorneys will question the legitimacy of these test results to help prove the innocence of their clients.
Contact The Law Place Today!
So how much does a DUI cost in Florida?
The cost of a DUI conviction in Florida is expensive. The sum an offender will have to pay will depend on the circumstances of their case. Even a first conviction can leave an offender largely out of pocket, and that is why it is important to seek reputable legal representation.
With the representation of an experienced attorney, you may be able to get your charges reduced or dropped. This could mean that you avoid having to pay the harsh fines attached to DUI convictions. A DUI conviction on your criminal record may never be erased, either. You must take these charges seriously and act promptly.
To schedule your free consultation with a DUI attorney at our firm, call us now at (941)-444-4444.
Call or text 941-444-4444 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form