The law in Florida, Florida State Statute 316.193, states that Driving Under the Influence (DUI) charges will remain on record for 75 years. As the legal driving limit in Florida is 16 years old, this means that a DUI charge will likely remain on most people’s records for the rest of their lives. It is for this reason that so many people are so desperate to have their charges dismissed to avoid the life-long consequences.
The law in Florida means that people who face DUI charges will likely face the following consequences:
- License suspension.
- Jail time.
- Loss of employment.
- Difficulty finding employment in the future.
- Barred from entering some countries.
Unfortunately, it is incredibly rare for judges to dismiss DUI charges. You may be concerned that it is rare for judges to dismiss DUI cases; however, with the help of an attorney, you may be able to minimize the consequences you will face. This is because an attorney may be able to get your charge reduced to a reckless driving charge instead.
If you have been caught driving under the influence and have been charged, the best chance you have of getting the charges dropped is by hiring an experienced DUI attorney.
The Law Place law firm in Florida has a wealth of experience in handling DUI cases. We will work as hard as we can to try and help you get your charges reduced as we understand how life-changing the consequences of DUI charges can be. If you or someone you know has been charged, it is important to get in contact with us as soon as possible as the quicker you react to the charge, the greater the chance of getting the charge dropped or reduced.
Contact us today for a free consultation. Our phone lines are available 24 hours a day, seven days a week. You can call us at (941) 444-4444.
In This Article
- What Percentage of DUI Cases Get Dismissed?
- What Does It Mean When a DUI Case Is Dismissed?
- How Do You Beat a DUI Case?
- What Do You Say to a Judge in a DUI Case?
- The Law Place
What Percentage of DUI Cases Get Dismissed?
Although it is rare for DUI charges to be dismissed by judges, it does sometimes happen. More commonly, however, a person will likely have their case reduced to reckless driving, for example. This reduction can be hugely beneficial as the consequences of a lesser charge, such as reckless driving, are favorable compared to DUI. The law in Florida means that a DUI case can remain on a person’s record for life, consequently having life-long implications.
In Florida, on average, around 30-40% of all driving under the influence cases get reduced to a lesser charge, such as reckless driving.
In almost all of those cases where a charge has been dismissed or reduced, a reputable, skilled defense attorney played a massive role. Therefore, if you or someone you know are facing DUI charges, seeking the help of an experienced attorney is incredibly important. The Law Place has experience working on DUI cases, so you can be assured that your case will be in some of the most qualified and skilled legal hands in Florida. Don’t hesitate to contact us today for a free consultation.
For a free legal consultation, call 941-444-4444
What Does It Mean When a DUI Case Is Dismissed?
If you are lucky enough to have your case dismissed, unfortunately, you will not completely escape all of the implications of the charge. This is because your arrest by a police officer will still show up when criminal background checks are completed. You may also be forced to disclose your arrest in certain situations in the future, such as in employment applications. Therefore, despite your case getting dismissed, your arrest will likely still have drastic consequences for your job prospects.
Employment background screening is common across all of the United States. In fact, 92% of all employers today will run background checks on their employees and applicants. The chances of you applying for a job and not having a background check completed is very slim. This, therefore, means that if you have been arrested by a police officer, regardless of whether your case has been dismissed or not, your arrest will remain on your record and could impact your future job prospects. You should consider expunging any DUI that was completely dismissed.
If you have any further questions concerning what having a dropped case will mean for you, contact The Law Place today, and one of our lawyers will be able to give you all of the help and advice you may be seeking.
How Do You Beat a DUI Case?
How you behave when you are arrested can have a massive impact on whether you beat your DUI charge. We recommend that when you are arrested, you should do the following:
- Remain silent. This means that you only say what is legally required of you, which is usually your name and address. Exercise your right to remain silent to avoid being tricked by police officer tactics.
- Refuse field sobriety tests. All Field Sobriety Tests conducted at DUI checkpoints and traffic stops are voluntary. These are not chemical tests and have never been approved by scientific means.
- Refuse a breathalyzer chemical test if it’s a first offense. These machines are widely known to be inaccurate and can be detrimental to your case. We also advise that you refuse a blood test for the same reasons.
- Pay close attention to the police officers at the scene. Watch for any errors because if you have a reasonable suspicion that they didn’t behave properly, you could get your case dropped.
If you do participate in field sobriety tests, you can still contest the evidence being charged against you. This is because the test results that these exercises produce are around not “scientific” accurate, but often the opinion of the officer. In many instances the officer’s opinion of your performance of the field sobriety tests is not corroborated by the breath or blood test at the station or jail.
Additionally, a police offer must have had a reasonable suspicion to stop your vehicle. They are required to have probable cause to make an arrest. You may be able to beat your case if the law enforcement is unable to prove that there was a probable cause or that they had reasonable suspicion to stop your vehicle.
If you have any further questions concerning how you can beat a DUI charge, contact The Law Place today. One of our skilled lawyers will be able to answer any questions you may have in a free consultation. They will also be able to give you a mass amount of legal advice if you are considering seeking legal representation for your case.
What Do You Say to a Judge in a DUI Case?
If your charge ends up in court, we advise that you seek legal representation in the form of a skilled attorney to represent you and do the speaking on your behalf. It can be incredibly easy in court to say the wrong thing, and anything you do say can be held against you. A defense attorney will use an array of tactics to fight your charges on your behalf.
Rule 3.171 of the Florida Rules of Criminal Procedure means that Florida is one of the states in the country that allows plea-bargaining in court. These tactics are highly likely to be used to defend you in court by your attorney.
Plea-bargaining involves the defendant agreeing to their charges in exchange for a removal of or lesser penalties and punishments. Your defense attorney will suggest what they believe the best course of action should be. However, it is up to judges whether they decide to listen to the plea or not.
Your defense attorney may also try and get your charge of DUI reduced to reckless driving. The act of reckless driving is a crime in every state of the country and involves a person driving a vehicle in a way that can cause danger to other people. A reduction in charge can be hugely beneficial as it would mean that you wouldn’t have to face such harsh punishments. The consequences of a reckless driving charge are far less severe than those of a DUI.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
The Law Place
A defense lawyer can help you out in a variety of ways if you have been arrested. Contact The Law Place today for a free consultation, and one of our experienced lawyers will be able to give you honest and unbiased advice concerning what your best legal options are. We strive to achieve the best outcomes possible for our client,s so you can be assured that you will have the best chance of fighting your charge with one of our lawyers.
Our phone lines are available 24 hours a day, seven days a wee,k to listen to your call. If you or someone you know has been charged with DUI, don’t hesitate to contact us today. Call us at (941) 444-4444.