In North Port, as in the rest of the State of Florida, it is a legal requirement to drive with a valid driver’s license, and any failure to do so can result in serious penalties and punishments. Florida Statute 322.03 emphasizes the rules and regulations for driving in the State of Florida, as well as the consequences that you may face if you are caught driving without a license.
Florida Statute 322.01 highlights that the State of Florida defines a driver’s license as a certificate that grants a person legal rights to drive a vehicle. Additionally, the statue also notes that to ‘drive’ a person must be in actual physical control of operating a motor vehicle.
If you or a loved one has been stopped or arrested for driving without a license in North Port, then it is important to seek legal advice from a reputable traffic defense lawyer as soon as possible. At The Law Place, we have a team of highly skilled traffic ticket attorneys with an abundance of experience in handling cases like yours. Our Florida phone lines are open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, so you can call us at a time most convenient for you, and rest assured we will be on hand to help and offer valuable legal advice. Call us at (941) 444-4444, and arrange a free consultation with a criminal defense lawyer today!
In This Article
- Penalties for Driving Without a License in North Port
- Possible Defenses for Driving Without a License in North Port
- Exemptions for Driving Without a License in North Port
- Contact The Law Place Today!
Penalties for Driving Without a License in North Port
If you are caught driving without a license in North Port, then it is more than likely that you will be charged with a second-degree misdemeanor. As noted in Florida Statute 775.083, punishments for a second-degree misdemeanor can include up to $500 payable in fines as well as up to sixty days in jail. However, if this is your first criminal offense, then it is unlikely that you will face a jail sentence.
If you are facing criminal charges for the first time, then in some circumstances, it may be possible for you to take part in a pre-trial division program. If you are able to complete this program successfully and stay out of any further trouble, then it is possible that you may be able to have your criminal charges reduced or even dropped. Once this is achieved, then you may also be able to begin having your criminal charges removed from your criminal record.
On the other hand, if you are considered to be a habitual traffic offender or are caught driving without a license for a second or third time, then it is highly likely that your charge will be elevated to a felony, and you will receive more severe punishments as a result. Felony charges can result in a fine of up to $5,000, as well as up to 5 years in jail.
If you or someone you know has been caught or arrested for driving without a valid driver’s license in North Port, then it is important to seek legal advice from a reputable criminal defense lawyer as soon as you can. At our law firm, we have a team of experienced attorneys who will be able to offer comprehensive legal advice and will work to ensure you receive the best possible outcome for your case.
Possible Defenses for Driving Without a License in North Port
By seeking the representation of a reputable traffic ticket lawyer, you are placing yourself in the best possible position to have your charges reduced or even dropped entirely. A highly skilled attorney will be able to analyze and investigate your case to ensure you receive the best possible outcome. An adept Florida traffic ticket attorney will also work to build a defense strategy that can stand up in court, which may see your charges reduced or eliminated entirely. In building a defense strategy, your lawyer may use any number of the following:
- That the defendant possessed a valid driver’s license, it simply wasn’t in their possession when they were stopped by a traffic officer.
- That the defendant possessed a valid driver’s license, but it was a foreign or out-of-state license.
- That the defendant was not driving on a public road when they were stopped by a traffic officer.
- That the defendant was stopped or detained by officers unlawfully.
- That the prosecution lacks sufficient evidence to prove to the jury, beyond a reasonable doubt, that the defendant was driving a vehicle in North Port with no valid driver’s license.
What are you waiting for? Call The Law Place today to arrange a free consultation with an adept attorney, and receive comprehensive legal advice at no-obligation.
Exemptions for Driving Without a License in North Port
In Florida, there are a few exemptions to the law that state drivers must be in possession of a driver’s license in order to operate a vehicle. Such exemptions include:
- Anyone operating a golf cart or buggy.
- Anyone operating farming machinery, such as tractors.
- A person who is at least 16 years of age, not a resident of Florida, but in possession of a non-commercial driver’s license from their own state or country, and is operating a vehicle that requires a Class E driver’s license.
- A person aged 18 or older that is not a resident of Florida but possesses a valid non-commercial driver’s license from their own country or state.
Contact The Law Place Today!
If you or someone you know has been caught driving without a license in North Port, then it is highly recommended to seek legal advice from a criminal defense attorney. At The Law Place, we have a highly skilled team of attorneys with over 75 years of collective experience in defending the accused.
At our law firm, we offer all our customers a free consultation where we will assess the legitimacy of your case and offer valuable and comprehensive legal advice, all at no-obligation. Our phone lines are open around the clock, so you can relax in the knowledge that a criminal defense attorney will be on the other end of the phone, offering valuable legal advice whenever you need it. Call today at (941) 444-4444 and arrange a free consultation.