In Fort Myers and the State of Florida, if you are caught driving without a valid commercial driver’s license, then it is likely that you will face serious criminal charges. The punishments and penalties associated with driving without a valid commercial license in Fort Myers may vary depending on the circumstances surrounding your case but are likely to include large fines, a permanent criminal record, possible license suspension, and potentially even time in prison.
If you have been caught or arrested for driving without a valid commercial license in Fort Myers, then it is strongly advised to seek legal advice and representation from an adept traffic defense lawyer as soon as you possibly can. At The Law Place, we have a team of knowledgeable and skilled criminal defense lawyers with an abundance of experience in dealing with traffic defense cases like yours.
At The Law Place, we offer all our clients a free initial consultation. At this consultation, an attorney will evaluate the legitimacy of your case and offer comprehensive legal advice on the best way to proceed. Our Fort Myers phone lines are open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, so you can call us at any time of day, and rest assured, an experienced defense attorney will be on hand to answer all of your questions. Call us today at (941) 444-4444, and arrange a free consultation with an adept defense attorney.
In This Article
- What Are the Differences Between Driving With a Revoked or Suspended License Versus Driving With No Valid License?
- Driver’s License Categories in Florida
- Different Types of Driver’s Licenses Available to Commercial Drivers in Florida
- Possible Penalties for Driving With No Valid Commercial License in Fort Myers, FL.
- Call The Law Place in Fort Myers Today!
What Are the Differences Between Driving With a Revoked or Suspended License Versus Driving With No Valid License?
As highlighted in Florida Statute 322.03, the charges for driving without a valid commercial license versus driving with a revoked or suspended license are different. For example, if you are caught driving without a valid commercial license, the prosecution will only need to prove that you were driving without a valid driver’s license. On the other hand, if you were driving on a revoked or suspended driver’s license, then the prosecution will need to prove two factors; that you had an invalid license and that you were aware of this.
It is also worthwhile noting that if you have been previously convicted for a criminal offense, or have received three or more traffic violations over the past five years, then the penalties you may face for driving with no valid commercial license are much more severe.
Regardless of whether your license was suspended or invalid, it is strongly advised to seek representation from a traffic defense attorney as soon as possible. They will be able to build a strong defense strategy that, if necessary, can stand up in court against the prosecution.
For a free legal consultation with a no valid commercial license lawyer serving Fort Myers, call 941-444-4444
Driver’s License Categories in Florida
The State of Florida itself has over 7 different types of driver’s licenses available to commercial drivers. Depending on which type of vehicle you drive and whether you are a learner will determine the type of driver’s license you are required to hold.
Class E Driver’s License
A class E driver’s license is a standard driving license given to those driving a non-commercial personal motor vehicle. This license allows the operator of the vehicle to hold a maximum weight of 26,001 pounds. This license covers the following types of motor vehicles:
- Recreational vehicles.
- Motor vehicles that have either two or three wheels but which aren’t motorbikes, such as scooters and mopeds.
- Vans with a maximum capacity of 15 people, including the driver.
Learner’s Driver’s License
These are assigned to those who are still learning to drive a motor vehicle. These licenses hold certain limitations, including:
- For the first three months, the learner that possesses the driver’s license can only drive during the daytime.
- After the first three months, the learner can drive a vehicle up until 10 pm.
- Learners must be accompanied by someone who holds a full driver’s license and who can supervise the learner’s driving.
- The vehicle weight limit is a maximum of 8,000 pounds.
- A learner is not allowed to drive a motorcycle with only a Florida learner’s license.
Motorcycle endorsements can be added to a Class E driver’s license, which then allows you to drive a motorcycle. In order to obtain this endorsement, you will have to:
- Successfully complete a BasicRider course.
- Visit an appropriate branch to exchange a fee for the endorsement.
If you are only interested in driving motorcycles rather than cars, then you can apply for a motorcycle-only license. This license can only be acquired if you successfully complete the following:
- Pass a test on Class E driving knowledge.
- Possess a learner’s license for a year without receiving any traffic violations or tickets.
- Complete a BasicRider course.
If you were unaware of these rules and have been charged with a traffic violation, then it is important to speak to a traffic defense lawyer as soon as possible. A strong defense attorney will work tirelessly to ensure you receive the best possible outcome, which may see your charges reduced or dropped entirely.
Fort Myers No Valid Commercial License Lawyer Near Me 941-444-4444
Different Types of Driver’s Licenses Available to Commercial Drivers in Florida
There are a number of driver’s licenses available to those who drive a commercial vehicle. The laws surrounding which driver’s license you are required to carry can be complex, as they vary according to the size of the vehicle. The different types of licenses that you may be required to carry when driving a commercial vehicle are as follows:
- Class A – This allows you to drive vehicles that weigh up to 26,001 pounds. This driver’s license also allows you to tow trailers or other vehicles weighing up to an additional 10,000 pounds.
- Class B – This type of driver’s license allows you to drive trucks weighing up to 26,001 pounds.
- Class C – In addition to allowing you to drive trucks weighing up to 26,001 pounds, this license also allows the driver to transport more than 15 people as well as hazardous materials.
It is important to note that there are also some complexities and exceptions to the law for other vehicles, such as emergency motor vehicles and school buses. For further information, the FHSMV website holds a comprehensive list of endorsements and exceptions to Florida law. Additionally, our defense lawyers at The Law Place are always happy to help should you wish to find out more.
Possible Penalties for Driving With No Valid Commercial License in Fort Myers, FL.
If you are unfortunate enough to be caught operating a vehicle with no valid commercial license in Fort Myers, then you could face any of the following penalties:
- Up to $500 payable in fines.
- Up to 60 days spent behind bars.
- A driver’s license suspension or revocation.
- A possible criminal record.
Contact The Law Place in Fort Myers to arrange a free consultation with an adept traffic defense lawyer. Our team has over 75 years of combined experience in dealing with the Florida legal system, so you can rest assured that your case will be in knowledgeable and competent hands.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Call The Law Place in Fort Myers Today!
If you are facing criminal charges for driving with no valid commercial license in Fort Myers, FL., then it is important that you contact a reputable law firm as soon as you can. At The Law Place, we have a highly skilled team of lawyers with an abundance of experience in defending the accused against traffic violations. An adept defense lawyer will work tirelessly to defend you against the prosecution and have your criminal charges reduced or even eliminated entirely.
At our law firm, we offer all our customers a free case evaluation in which we will assess the legitimacy of your case. At this consultation, we will also offer valuable legal advice on the best way to proceed to ensure you receive the best outcome possible. Many of our lawyers are AVVO rated 10.0, which is the highest possible rating awarded based on trial skills, length of service, and client reviews, so you can rest assured that your case will be in knowledgeable hands.
Our Fort Myers phone lines are open around the clock, so you can call us at a time that suits you best, and rest assured our attorneys will be there to answer your call. Call us today at (941) 444-4444 and get started with your case.