Florida Statute 316.193 states that a driver can be charged with a DUI if they are caught driving, or they are in physical control of a vehicle while they are under the influence of alcohol or any chemical substance, which includes lawfully prescribed drugs, over the counter medications, and illegal street drugs.
The legal blood alcohol content (BAC) level for an average driver over 21 years of age is 0.08% in the State of Florida and in many other states. Driving with an illegal blood alcohol content (BAC) level will lead to penalties that will most likely cause you difficulties later. The repercussions of a DUI charge will affect your personal and professional life in a negative way if the case is not handled properly, which is why you need to consult a professional criminal defense lawyer before you make any moves.
It is important that you fully understand your legal rights under the law in the State of Florida. The good news is that you can hire the skills of a criminal defense lawyer from The Law Place to explain the process and the criminal law surrounding DUI in Clearwater.
The Law Place has over seventy-five years of collective experience when it comes to battling traffic-related cases, including reckless driving, car accidents, personal injury claims, driving under the influence, and many others. We have managed hundreds of DUI cases like yours, and we know how to achieve a reasonable outcome for your case if you ultimately choose to put your faith in us. Our dedicated team of criminal defense attorneys has the necessary knowledge to fight for your rights and guide you through the legal system in Clearwater.
You will need the skills of a DUI defense attorney to combat your felony charges. Don’t hesitate to reach out and call us today to schedule a free consultation, in which a DUI defense attorney will discuss the facts of your case, answer all of your questions, and offer you a piece of free, unbiased advice to help you in your current situation.
Contact The Law Place now on (941) 444-4444 for a free consultation, and we will fight your DUI felony charges together in Clearwater, Florida.
In This Article
- What Is the Difference Between a Felony DUI and a Misdemeanor DUI in Clearwater, FL?
- When a Misdemeanor DUI Becomes a Felony DUI in Clearwater, FL.
- Contact The Law Place Today
What Is the Difference Between a Felony DUI and a Misdemeanor DUI in Clearwater, FL?
If you are facing charges for driving under the influence in Clearwater for the first time, then you might be asking yourself, “Is DUI considered a misdemeanor or a felony crime in the State of Florida?”. A DUI is commonly referred to as a ‘wobbler offense,’ which means it could be charged as either a felony or a misdemeanor, depending on the circumstances and facts of the case in question.
A first or second DUI offense is usually charged as a misdemeanor in the State of Florida. The penalties will vary based on the level of your blood alcohol content (BAC) at the time of your arrest. If your blood alcohol content (BAC) level was between .08% and .14%, then the penalties will include spending up to 6 months in jail, a fine of up to $1,000, a one-year driver’s license suspension, probation community service, and attending a course at a DUI school in Clearwater. However, if your blood alcohol content (BAC) level was at or above .14%, then the penalties will be even more severe.
A third or subsequent DUI offense within a time period of 10 years, or a DUI offense that caused bodily injury or wrongful death of another individual, will ultimately be charged as a felony crime in the State of Florida. The more serious the case, then the more serious the penalties. For more severe DUI offenses, the penalties include spending up to 15 years in prison and receiving a fine of up to $10,000.
Nonetheless, you will need to hire the skills of a criminal defense attorney to fight for your rights and build a strong DUI defense strategy, regardless of whether your charge is a misdemeanor or a felony. Call The Law Place today to schedule a free consultation in Clearwater.
For a free legal consultation with a felony dui lawyer serving Clearwater, call 941-444-4444
When a Misdemeanor DUI Becomes a Felony DUI in Clearwater, FL.
In most cases, a DUI is classed as a misdemeanor, especially if this is your first offense and no one suffered any injuries. The penalties for a first time DUI misdemeanor tend to include:
- Spending up to 6 months in jail.
- A fine between $500 and $1,000.
- Up to 50 hours of community service.
- Up to 1 year of probation time.
- Attending an alcoholic or drug abuse treatment program.
- The vehicle will be impounded for up to 10 days unless it is a family vehicle.
The penalties will be further enhanced if your blood alcohol content (BAC) level was higher at the time of your arrest.
Furthermore, if you committed a third or subsequent offense within the time period of 10 years or someone else suffered a bodily injury as a result of your drunk driving, then your misdemeanor charge will likely be escalated to a felony crime. A four-time DUI conviction will also be automatically charged as a felony. Some of the many penalties for a felony DUI include:
- A fine between $1,000 and $5,000.
- Up to 5 years in jail.
- Up to 5 years of probation.
- A permanent driver’s license revocation.
- A vehicle impoundment for up to 10 days.
Clearwater Felony DUI Lawyer Near Me 941-444-4444
Contact The Law Place Today
If you are facing criminal charges for driving under the influence, then we highly recommend that you contact a DUI attorney as soon as possible. A DUI felony charge comes with severe consequences, and it can have a serious impact on your personal and professional life. Most of the time, a DUI felony charge can prove to be a hard challenge to overcome, and you will need the best DUI attorney with comprehensive knowledge of criminal law to help you combat this charge.
The Law Place has over seventy-five years of combined experience in battling driving under the influence charges with great success. Our law firm has had the privilege of helping clients and fighting for their legal rights to achieve favorable outcomes in Clearwater and throughout the State of Florida. We have a skilled team of criminal defense attorneys who understand criminal law and can help guide you through the legal system with efficiency.
If you choose to be represented by our law firm, then a criminal defense lawyer will get to work on conducting an investigation into your DUI felony charge, gathering relevant facts and information, negotiating with the prosecution, and building a strong DUI defense strategy for your case. Rest assured that we will work hard to reduce your charges and achieve a favorable outcome for you.
Don’t delay; call us today to schedule a free consultation. A DUI defense lawyer will be waiting to hear from you. Contact The Law Place now on (941) 444-4444 for a free consultation, and we will fight your DUI felony charges together in Clearwater, Florida.