A hit-and-run is characterized as a motor accident where the vehicle involved does not stop. Damage that is ‘ran from’ can range from property damage to a fatality. If a driver is involved in an accident, they are legally required to stop at the scene of the accident, but sadly, according to the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, between 2015 and 2019 in Florida, there were 507,648 hit-and-run accidents that then led to 1,037 traffic fatalities. We understand how confusing a hit-and-run collision can be when you don’t have a person to blame for your suffering, but our law firm is here to help and to ensure you get the compensation and justice you so deserve.
Here at The Law Place, our team is well experienced in dealing with cases such as your own, possessing a combined 75 years of experience in total. You can be confident that our law firm will provide you with the best possible legal aid and will be dedicated to your fight for justice. Call us today using our toll-free number, (941) 444-4444, to organize a free consultation with a personal injury lawyer from our law firm; phone lines are open 24/7.
What to Do After a Hit-and-Run Accident in Fort Myers, FL
It can be extremely confusing and distressing when faced with the aftermath of a hit-and-run, as the direct victim yourself or having lost a loved one. Below is some quick advice to take into account at the scene of your collision.
As soon as the driver leaves the scene, it is vital you contact and work with the necessary law enforcement. Under Florida Statute 316.062, you are required to alert the emergency services of an accident as soon as possible if you are involved in one. They may ask you to recount details, including the make and model of the vehicle involved, the color of the vehicle, the number plate if you saw it, and any noticeable physical characteristics of the driver.
It is important that you seek medical care as soon as possible to ensure you are healthy and have all possible injuries treated. It is also important from an insurance point of view as not doing this can prevent you from receiving a payout.
After any form of car accident, it is important you contact your auto insurance company as soon as possible to discuss the process behind collecting PIP coverage benefits. Personal Independence Payment is extra money to help you with your everyday life after an accident but is only paid if you have received medical care within 14 days of your collision. Florida Statute 627.727 sets out the requirements for car insurance, as well as any additional coverage you could be owed after your hit-and-run.
For a free legal consultation with a hit-and-run accidents lawyer serving Fort Myers, call 941-444-4444
Common Injuries After a Car Accident
If you’ve been involved in a Fort Myers hit-and-run accident, whether you were a pedestrian or in a car, then injuries are likely. Examples of common injuries include:
- Cuts, scrapes, and bruises
- Fractured or broken bones
- Loss of limbs
- Organ damage
- Neck injuries, such as whiplash
- Traumatic head injuries
No matter what exact injury/injuries you sustain, you could be owed compensation if they were not your fault. Contact The Law Place today if you believe you could be owed compensation for your injuries. Our lawyers will evaluate your case and determine how strong your claim is.
Fort Myers Hit-and-Run Accident Lawyer Near Me 941-444-4444
What Damages Can Be Claimed After a Hit-and-Run
A hit-and-run can bring about extreme stress. For any suffering or economic loss you face after your Fort Myers car accident, you may be owed compensation to cover this. Some examples of damages that you may be owed include:
- Medical expenses – It is likely after a hit-and-run that you will have to receive some medical attention. For any bills you have to pay, you will be able to have these costs reimbursed to you via compensation. If you or your loved one have suffered long-lasting injuries, then you may be able to claim for any future ongoing expenses too.
- Loss of wages – If you have had to have time away from work and have lost wages because of your mental or physical anguish, then you will be able to claim back this lost income. In the case that you are unable to return to work, you may also be able to make a claim for a loss of earning capabilities.
- Property damage – For any damage your vehicle receives, you may be able to claim for repair or replacement costs after your Fort Myers car accident. Remember to keep proof of these costs.
- Pain and suffering – This includes any mental and/or emotional suffering you encounter because of your hit-and-run accident. This type of suffering can seriously impact your life, but sadly it is hard to prove and provide evidence for due to the subjectivity of what is considered and to what degree it impacts you. For this reason, we highly recommend having a personal injury lawyer on your side to do this for you.
- Wrongful death – As per Florida Statute 768.21, you will be able to file a wrongful death lawsuit if you have sadly lost a loved one in a hit-and-run accident. A settlement from such a lawsuit will cover any funeral expenses and loss of consortium.
Hit-and-run accidents can be significantly damaging, so it is important you have an experienced Fort Myers hit-and-run accident lawyer working with you to help your case. Contact our law firm today to organize a free consultation with our team to understand what you could be owed.
Click to contact our Fort Myers Car Accident Lawyers today
How Much Can You Get From a Hit and Run Lawsuit?
The amount of compensation you receive after a hit-and-run depends heavily on the degree of your damages, injuries, and the amount of available uninsured motorist insurance.
As Florida is No-Fault State, it means that drivers have insurance that covers their own injuries and damage instead of insuring to pay out to the other person. If another car is involved and a vehicle is damaged, or the driver is injured, then the average settlement for a car accident is $15,000. The average wrongful death settlement is around $500,000, but some can be upwards of $1 million.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Time Is of the Essence!
After a Fort Myers hit-and-run, you must act as quickly as possible. Florida operates a strict statute of limitations. Florida Statute 95.11 states that a personal injury case will only have four years from the date of your accident to be submitted for a compensation claim. In the case of wrongful death, this is reduced to two years from the date of the car accident. If these time constraints elapse, your case will be forever barred, and you will be unable to receive compensation for your Fort Myers hit-and-run accident.
Additionally, hit-and-run accidents can be severe, so it is important you seek medical care. This is also necessary for insurance purposes as per Florida Statute 627.736. If two weeks pass from your accident and you have not received medical treatment, then an insurance company can use this against you and not compensate you.
Because of these strict time constraints, we highly recommend having an experienced lawyer from The Law Place on your side to ensure your case can meet every deadline, and you can ultimately receive an appropriate payout.
Contact a Personal Injury Lawyer The Law Place Today!
If you or a loved one have been involved in a hit-and-run accident in Fort Myers, contact our law firm today. Our team possesses a combined 75 years of experience, and many of our lawyers are AVVO 10.0 rated, so you can be confident your case is in the hands of some of the best. We are dedicated to your fight for justice and will be here for you every step of the way.
We realize that compensation cannot replace a loved one or fix all the injuries you have sustained, but it is a big step in recovery and can aid you and your family financially. Contact us today to organize a free consultation using our toll-free number, (941) 444-4444; phone lines are open 24/7 for your convenience.
Call or text 941-444-4444 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form