The law in Florida requires all drivers to possess a valid driver’s license if they wish to drive on the public roads and highways. If you have been caught driving by a police officer in Sarasota, FL., without a valid driver’s license, you may be facing some tough penalties and require the assistance of a skilled criminal defense lawyer.
At The Law Place, we have a team of reputable criminal defense lawyers who strive to achieve the best possible case results for our clients. Our criminal defense lawyers in Sarasota are highly knowledgeable of the Florida laws concerning traffic violations, reckless driving, and driving without a valid license. We advise that you seek our help if you have been caught driving with no valid license. A lot of people in Florida underestimate just how serious the consequences can be for drivers who are caught driving with no valid license.
Contact us today to schedule a free consultation with one of our Sarasota criminal defense lawyers. A lawyer will be able to examine your case and advise you on what your legal options are. If you have been caught driving in Sarasota, FL., with no valid license, we can help you. Call us today at (941) 444-4444.
What Does It Mean to Drive Without a Valid Driver’s License?
In Florida, the law requires all drivers to have a valid driver’s license if they plan on driving on the roads. This means that if you have a license suspension, revoked driver’s license, canceled license, or an expired license; you should not be driving on the public roads in Florida. Florida Statute 322.03 outlines the law regarding driving licenses and what penalties offenders can face if they are caught committing these traffic violations. A lot of drivers with a license suspension are caught driving and are forced to suffer strict consequences. It is critically important that you only drive in Florida if you have a valid license.
The law defines the act to “drive” as a person, either operating a motor vehicle or in physical control of a motor vehicle. This means that it is possible to be charged with driving with no license even if your vehicle is stationary, but you were in physical control of it. The statute defines a “motor vehicle” as any self-propelled vehicle that is not powered by human power.
Florida Statute 322.01 outlines what the law defines as a “driver’s license.” Essentially, a driver’s license is simply a certificate that all drivers are required to have if they wish to drive on the road. It permits them to drive a vehicle, considering that all other legal requirements have been met.
Our criminal defense lawyers are experienced with Florida laws concerning traffic violations. Therefore, if you have any further questions or queries concerning what the law means, don’t hesitate to contact us today. A defense lawyer at The Law Place will be able to answer all of your questions in your free consultation.
For a free legal consultation with a driving without a valid driver’s license lawyer serving Sarasota, call 941-444-4444
What Happens if You Get Pulled Over Without a License in Sarasota?
Driving in Florida with no license or a license that isn’t validated is a crime. It is classed as a misdemeanor. Therefore, if a police officer pulls your vehicle to a stop and finds that you do not have a license, you could face the following penalties if you are convicted:
- A fine of up to $500.
- A maximum of 60 days of jail time.
Sometimes, certain eligible motorists may be able to resolve the citation if they can obtain a license and pay the $25 court assessment fee. However, it is important to note that this is only available to drivers who have not resolved another citation in the same way within the previous 12 months.
Sarasota Driving without a Valid Driver’s License Lawyer Near Me 941-444-4444
What Happens if You Get Pulled Over Twice Without a License?
The second time a police officer pulls your vehicle over and discovers that you have been driving without a license, it is unsurprising that if you are convicted, you will face tougher penalties than your first offense. For a second conviction, you can expect to face:
- A fine of up to $500.
- A maximum of one year of jail time.
- Vehicle impoundment.
These are tough penalties, and therefore, The Law Place strongly recommends that you seek the help of an experienced defense lawyer if you have been pulled over for the second time in Sarasota. A lawyer will be able to examine your case in a free consultation to determine what the best legal options available to you are. They can also begin work on building your defense. Our criminal defense lawyers strive to achieve the best possible results for our clients, and we promise not to give up on fighting your case until you are satisfied.
Can You Go to Jail for Driving Without a License in Florida?
If your vehicle has been pulled over by a police officer in Sarasota and the officer discovers that you do not have a license, you can go to jail if you are convicted. The law in Florida is incredibly strict when it comes to traffic violations. If you are convicted of driving with no license in Sarasota, your jail sentence will depend on how many times you have previously committed the offense. For example:
- For your first offense, you can expect to serve a maximum of 60 days in jail.
- For your second offense, you can expect to serve a maximum of a year in jail.
- For your third or subsequent offense, you can expect to serve a maximum of five years in jail.
We understand how worrying it may be for you to be caught driving with no license. If it is your first offense and you have a clean criminal record with no previous traffic violations committed, it is unlikely that you will be sentenced to jail. However, it is possible and is up to the judge’s discretion, which is why you should seek the help of one of our criminal defense lawyers. One of our Sarasota criminal defense lawyers will be able to examine your case in your free consultation to determine what possible defenses you may be able to use. We can help fight your case so that you can avoid serving jail time by having your charges either dropped or reduced.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Defenses to the Charge of Driving With No Driver’s License in Sarasota
Our criminal defense lawyers at The Law Place are well experienced in helping our clients escape the worse penalties after they have been caught driving with no license. A defense attorney will investigate your case to discover what possible defenses could apply to your case. In a free consultation, an attorney may be able to give you a brief idea of this.
Some of the most common defenses that our lawyers use to challenge the charges held against our clients for driving with no license in Sarasota include:
- The driver was stopped unlawfully or detained unlawfully by police officers following their vehicle getting pulled to a stop.
- The driver was not driving their motor vehicle on a highway or road that was open to the public.
- The driver did possess a driving license; however, they simply did not have it on them at the time.
- The driver had a validated license, but it was an out-of-state or foreign license.
- The State of Florida does not possess a sufficient amount of evidence to prove that the driver was driving with no license.
The most important thing to do if you have been caught driving with no license in Florida is to act quickly. You must speak to and seek the guidance of a reputable criminal defense attorney as quickly as you can. The quicker you seek their help, the greater the chance you will have of getting your case dropped or charges reduced. This is because you will be giving your attorney a larger amount of time to build a strong defense case. If you have any questions or worries, don’t hesitate to contact us. We will happily be able to reassure you and offer you honest, unbiased legal advice.
Contact The Law Place Today!
If your vehicle has been pulled over in Sarasota by a police officer and you didn’t have a license, you may be needing the help of a reputable criminal defense lawyer. At The Law Place, we can help you. We have a legal team with a wealth of knowledge and experience in helping our clients escape the worse penalties after they have been caught driving with no license. You don’t have to simply accept your penalties. Together we can fight your case.
We have practice areas all over Florida, and our Sarasota team can happily answer any questions or queries you may have. Our phone lines are open 24 hours a day, seven days a week, to listen to your call.
Contact us today to schedule a free case consultation with one of our reputable criminal defense lawyers. Call us at (941) 444-4444.